16th April 2023


A world record and many fine PBs were on order for the second and final day of action at the Coventry Spring Meeting at the University of Warwick track.

In a replica of Saturday, Kayleigh Haggo (John Owens, Red Star) set the new world record for the T72 Framerunning classification, going quicker than her qualifying heat to win in 19.30 (0.8).

Rafi Solaiman (Phillip Fleetwood, Charnwood) won the men’s framerunning final ahead of Thomas Talbot (Phillip Fleetwood, Lincoln Wellington), with a time of 18.19 (-1.5) in tricky conditions. Muninder Singh Hayer (Job King, Coventry Godiva) won the men’s 800m in a PB of 4:17.85, while Paige Murray (Job King, Charnwood) won the women’s in 4:29.00.

After Saturday’s heats, the finals of the women’s wheelchair 100m took place with Kare Adenegan (Job King, Coventry) [T34] winning comfortably ahead of Fabienne Andre (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) [T34] with 18.18 (0.7) to 19.65. They returned to the track later in the day to take on the 800m, and Adenegan showed her class to win by a big margin in 2:04.78. Andre was second in 2:16.02 and was pushed all the way by Joanna Robertson (Philip Owens, Aderdeen) [T54] who revised her PB to 2:17.18; her previous best was 2:36.78.

Dillon Labrooy (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) [T54] won the men’s wheelchair 100m with a time of 15.75 (0.6) ahead of Mo Jomni (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) [T53] who posted a time of 16.33. Labrooy was equally supreme in the 800m as he won in a time of 1:44.50. European medallist Ben Rowlings (Coventry) [T34] was next across the line in 1:49.84.

The last of the wheelchair races saw the men face the 5000m, and it was Joshua Hartley (Job King, Coventry) [T53] who dominated the contest, winning by over 40 seconds in a time of 12:36.05.

After setting a 100m PB on Saturday, Faye Olszowka (Coral Nourrice, Bexley) [T20] did not quite replicate the time in the women’s ambulant final on Sunday, but a strong showing of 13.05 (0.4) saw her take the win, and a huge deal of confidence as she moves into the summer season. Madeline Down (Dominic McNeillis, Halesowen) [T38] was second in 13.60.

In the ambulant 200m, Victoria Levitt (Hyndburn) [T44] lowered her career best to 28.53 (0.4) in a race which saw the top three all set PBs. Debbie O’Connell (Emma Burgon-Kisby, Lincoln Wellington) [T46] was next in 29.39, and Bebe Jackson (Michelle Dawson, Harlow AC) [T44] took 0.03s off her lifetime best in 29.53.

Emmanuel Oyinbo-Coker (Joe McDonnell, Newham & Essex Beagles) [T47] clocked 11.50 (0.4) on his way to victory in the men’s ambulant 100m, with Segun Samuel (Jeffrey Lawal-Balogun, Newham & Essex Beagles) [T46] next across the line in 11.83.

In a closely fought battle in the men’s ambulant 1500m, only a few hundredths separated Daniel Wolff (Dave Mitchell, Epsom & Ewell) [T20] and Kieran O’Hara (Patrick Gahagan, Havering) [T20]. Wolff edged it in 4:13.69 from O’Hara in 4:13.83, while there were personal bests for James McKibbin (Mark Brace, North Devon) [T20] and Arthur Milles (Trevor Cummings, St Mary’s Richmond) [T12] in third and fourth, their times 4:26.24 and 4:29.70 which were significant improvements to their previous bests.

Erin Barry (Keswick) [T20] won the women’s ambulant 1500m with a PB of 5:20.13.

Results are on the Roster app.