19th July 2018


Spectators at this weekend’s Müller Anniversary Games will get to see the world’s best Para athletes compete in the London Stadium with Paralympic and world champions confirming their attendance, joining an already star-studded event (21-22 July).

Multiple Paralympic and world champions Hannah Cockroft, Richard Whitehead and Marie-Amelie Le Fur are three of 12 Paralympic and world medallists heading to London, including many of the stars from last year’s World Para Athletics Championships.

10-time world champion and five-time Paralympic champion Hannah Cockroft will take to the London Stadium track 12 months after winning a hat-trick of world titles to become the most decorated British para athlete in the history of the world championships.

Joining Cockroft in Sunday’s T34 100m will be teenage superstar Kare Adenegan, who, despite only being aged 17, already has three Paralympic and five world medals to her name, including silver behind Cockroft in this event last year. Adenegan is also the current world lead over the 100m with a PB of 17.37 set July.

World record holders Libby Clegg (T11 100m and 200m) and Sophie Hahn (T38 100m and 200m) are always popular with the home crowd and they will compete in the women’s T11 200m and T37/38 200m respectively.

Double Paralympic champion and four-time world champion Richard Whitehead heads a very competitive T61 200m field, which also includes Paralympic and world bronze medallist David Henson and 2016 Paralympian Regas Woods of the USA.

South Africa’s Ntando Mahlangu hit the headlines at Rio 2016, winning 200m T42 Paralympic silver aged just 14, and he will certainly be one-to-watch in London in the same event. As will Luke Sinnott nearly a year after he just missed out on a long jump medal on his senior international debut at last year’s World Championships.

The women’s T47/64/44 long jump will certainly be an event to watch on Saturday, featuring reigning Paralympic and world champions. T64 world record holder Marie-Amelie Le Fur is a seven-time Paralympic medallist, including the reigning Paralympic champion, as well as an eight-time world medallist.

Also in action in the long jump will be T44 world champion Stef Reid who will compete alongside fellow Brit and world T47 silver medallist Polly Maton, while the USA’s Taleah Williams returns to London after winning the T47 world title last year.

Across the five Para events scheduled for the Müller Anniversary Games, there are 12 Paralympic and world medallists, with over 85 major international medals between them.

See the biggest stars at the Müller Anniversary Games on 21-22 July; for tickets visit: https://www.britishathletics.org.uk/events-and-tickets/muller-anniversary-games-2018/