15th April 2017

World Relays - Women's 4x100m team

British Athletics today announced that, due to minor injury concerns, it has taken the precautionary decision to withdraw the women’s 4x100m team from the IAAF World Relays in Nassau, Bahamas on 22-23 April 2017.

Winners of the 4x100m Olympic bronze last summer, Rio medallists Daryll Neita [Hamstring] and Desiree Henry [Knee] have both picked up slight injury concerns, along with squad members Ashleigh Nelson and Imani Lansiquot [Hamstring].

Performance Director for British Athletics, Neil Black said:

“Across the entire team we are taking the World Relays incredibly seriously, but with three of our 4x100m strike four runners from Rio, plus Ashleigh and Imani, all showing signs of minor injury concerns we have to look at the big picture.

“As the Home Nation, we are already assured of qualification for the World Championships in London this summer, so there is no need to take any unnecessary risks. 2017 is an even bigger year for us than 2016, so all our decisions are made with a long term view of having our top athletes fit and competing to win medals in front of a home crowd in London.”

From the original squad selected and 4x100m World Class Performance Plan, only Asha Philip and Jodie Williams remain fully fit to travel to the Bahamas.

Added Black “We did consider drafting in Shannon Hylton and Sophie Papps, who are included in our 2017 4x100m squad as development athletes, but not part of the WCPP. However, due to valid performance reasons, neither were available to compete.”

Dina Asher-Smith, the fourth member of the 4x100m team from Rio 2016, was originally not selected for the World Relays squad so she could continue to rehab from a foot injury.

The British Athletics team for the IAAF World Relays:

Men’s squad

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Benke Blomkvist)

Ojie Edoburun (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo)

Adam Gemili (Rana Reider)

Zharnel Hughes (Glen Mills)

Richard Kilty

Danny Talbot (Benke Blomkvist)

Chijindu Ujah (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo)


Theo Campbell (James Hillier)

Jarryd Dunn (Keith Holt)

Matthew Hudson-Smith (Tony Hadley)

Martyn Rooney (Graham Hedman)

Delano Williams (Neil Harrison)

Rabah Yousif (Carol Williams)

Women’s 4x400m

Eilidh Doyle (Malcolm Arnold)

Emily Diamond (Jared Deacon)

Kelly Massey (Stephen Ball)

Laviai Nielsen (Frank Adams)

Anyika Onuora (Rana Reider)

Christine Ohuruogu