23rd April 2017

World Relays - Day Two - Strike Fours

British Athletics announces its strike four runners* for Day Two of the IAAF World Relays in Nassau, Bahamas on 23 April 2017.

Women’s 4x400m:

Emily Diamond (Jared Deacon)

Laviai Nielsen (Frank Adams)

Eilidh Doyle (Malcolm Arnold)

Christine Ohuruogu

Men’s 4x400m:

Matthew Hudson-Smith (Tony Hadley)

Delano Williams (Neil Harrison)

Jarryd Dunn (Keith Holt)

Theo Campbell (James Hillier)

Olympic gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu has been included in the British Athletics team for the the final of the women’s 4x400m relay.

A member of the silver medal winning quartet at the European Championships in Belgrade earlier this year, Laviai Nielsen has also been drafted into the quartet and makes her full relay team debut.

Stephen Maguire, Head of Sprints at British Athletics, said:

“Laviai is undoubtedly a talent, but she is untested at this level yet, so we need to see how she will react on the world stage before we get to the World Championships in London. To be able to balance her inclusion by bringing in someone with the experience of Christine balances the team out perfectly.

“As with the women’s team, the plan had always been to make changes for the final, unfortunately Martyn Rooney (thigh) and Rabah Yousif (muscle tightness) picked up minor niggles in training. With these two athletes key to our success in London, we decided to rest them tonight.”

*Teams can be changed up until 95minutes before the start of each race.