22nd April 2017

World Relays - Day One - Strike Fours

British Athletics announces its strike four runners* for Day One of the IAAF World Relays in Nassau, Bahamas on 22 April 2017.

Men’s 4x100m:

Chijindu Ujah (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo)

Zharnel Hughes (Glen Mills)

Adam Gemili (Rana Reider)

Danny Talbot (Benke Blomkvist)

Women’s 4x400m:

Eilidh Doyle (Malcolm Arnold)

Emily Diamond (Jared Deacon)

Anyika Onuora (Rana Reider)

Kelly Massey (Stephen Ball)

Men’s 4x400m:

Matthew Hudson-Smith (Tony Hadley)

Delano Williams (Neil Harrison)

Jarryd Dunn (Keith Holt)

Theo Campbell (James Hillier)

Stephen Maguire, Head of Sprints at British Athletics, said:

“The teams will be walking onto the track looking to run fast and win, but our overall focus is on the World Championships in London. This competition gives us a great opportunity to try out some different combinations and tactics against the top relay teams of the world. We intend to use this opportunity to the fullest.”

Bronze medallists from the Rio Olympic Games last year, the women’s 4x400m selections see the unveiling of a totally new combination. Eilidh Doyle resumes her starting role from the final in Rio, whilst Emily Diamond (leg one in the heat in Rio and third leg in the Final) moves to the second leg, with Anyika Onuora (who ran both second legs in Rio) moving up to the third leg and Kelly Massey (who ran leg three in the Rio heat) anchoring.

25-year-old sprinter Theo Campbell makes his full British team debut, anchoring the Men’s 4x400m. Whilst in the Men’s 4x100m, Zharnel Hughes, who finished fifth in the 200m at the Beijing World Championships, is set for his first relay team outing.

On the first night of the IAAF World Relays, the British Athletics teams will wear black ribbons on their vests in memory of fellow British athlete Germaine Mason. High Jump silver medallist for Great Britain at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, Mason (34) tragically died on Thursday following a motorcycle crash in Jamaica.

*Teams can be changed up until 95minutes before the start of each race.