12th August 2019


BWAA Grand Prix, Stoke Mandeville, 10 August

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks; Leeds) faced Kare Adenegan (Job King; Coventry) for the first time in 2019, with the 10-time world champion coming out on top over the 100m and 400m at a very windy Stoke Mandeville. With rapid cross winds facing all the athletes, fast times were out of the question, but Cockroft won the 100m in a handy 18.34 (-0.5) to Adenegan’s 18.60.

In the 400m, Cockroft pushed well to 1:00.44, while Adenegan was second in 1:04.12.

Stephen Miller (Ros Miller; Gateshead) threw a season’s best in the F32 club throw, recording a best of 31.21 metres.


European Team Championships, Bydgoszcz, Poland, 10-11 August

Day one

Day two

Day three


BMC Grand Prix, Stretford – 10 August 2019

Eliot Giles (Jon Bigg; Birchfield Harriers) just edged the win ahead of Alex Botterill (Andrew Henderson; City of York) in an exciting 800m. Giles clocked 1:47.28, 0.44 seconds ahead of Botterill to seal the top spot.

Ellie Baker (Jon Bigg; Shaftesbury Barnet) won in the women’s equivalent on 2:04.43.

The T20 athlete, Owen Miller (Steven Doig; Fife), continued his good form into the 2019 season by finishing in 3:59.73 over the 1500m, while Stephen Morris (James Thie; Cardiff) clocked 4:02.46.

Results: http://britishmilersclub.com/content/bmcitemdisplay.aspx?itemid=1613


World Mountain Running Association World Cup, Sierre-Zinal, 10 August

Robbie Simpson (Deeside Runners) finished fifth in the World Mountain Running Association World Cup, with British teammate and World Cup Leader Andy Douglas (Sophie Dunnett; Inverclyde) just behind in 6th.

In the women’s, Holly Page came 8th with 2018 World Long Distance Mountain Running champion Charlotte Morgan (Carnethy) behind in 11th.



Loughborough EAP Meeting, 6 August

European under 20 gold medallist Georgina Adams (Jonas Dodoo; Loughborough Students) narrowly took the win in the senior women’s 100m, clocking a personal best time of 11.45, only 0.01 seconds ahead of Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice; Newham and Essex Beagles).

Agyapong did go on to smash the 13-year meeting record in the women’s 200m with a season’s best time of 23.17.

Charlie Dobson (Benke Blomkvist: Colchester Harriers) equalled Adam Gemili’s meeting record in a wind-assisted time of 20.53 (+2.3) to win in the men’s 200m.

In the high jump, Chris Baker (Graham Ravenscroft; Sale Harriers Manchester) won with a 2.25m jump, only 1cm off the meeting record.

Lucy Marshall (Gary Herrington; Woodford Green Essex Ladies) took the win in the hammer throw with a 63.47m personal best, and World University Games bronze medallist Taylor Campbell (Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow; John Pearson) won on 73.63m in the men’s equivalent.



*Photo credit: Peter Milsom