8th January 2018


There are four changes to the British Athletics team for the Great Edinburgh XCountry taking place on Saturday 13 January.

In the senior women’s race, fresh from full Cross Challenge points in Antrim last weekend, Verity Ockenden (Tony Houchin, Swansea) comes into the British side alongside Louise Damen (self-coached, Winchester). The pair replace Amy Griffiths (Rob Denmark, Aldershot Farnham & District) and Elle Vernon (David Turnbull, Stockport) who have sadly withdrawn due to injury.

Jack Martin (David Turnbull, Stockport) and Andy Heyes (Steve Vernon, Stockport) take the places of Dewi Griffiths (Kevin Evans, Swansea) and Sam Stabler (Rob Denmark, Wreake & Sour Valley) in the senior men’s race.

The Simplyhealth Great Edinburgh XCountry is a team competition pitting the British Athletics team against Europe and the USA, also including an exciting international mixed relay. The event takes place in Edinburgh’s Holyrood Park and is free to spectate. It will be televised live on BBC One from 13:15 – 15:15 on Saturday 13 January 2018.

The British Athletics team for the Great Edinburgh XCountry:

Senior Women:

Katie Bingle (Mick Woods, Aldershot Farnham & District)

Philippa Bowden (Mick Woods, Aldershot Farnham & District)

Louise Damen (self-coached, Winchester)

Emelia Gorecka (Chris Thompson, Aldershot Farnham & District)

Jess Judd (Mick Judd, Chelmsford)

Harriet Knowles-Jones (Paul Roden, Warrington)

Phoebe Law (Mick Woods, Kingston & Poly)

Mhairi MacLennan (John Lees, Inverness)

Verity Ockenden (Tony Houchin, Swansea)


Senior Men:

Ben Connor (Steve Vernon, Stockport)

Patrick Dever (Andy Bibby, Preston)

Nick Goolab (Craig Winrow, Belgrave)

Andrew Heyes (Steve Vernon, Hallamshire)

Mahamed Mahamed (Peter Haynes, Southampton)

Jack Martin (David Turnbull, Stockport)

Chris Olley (Mark Hookway, Tonbridge)

Alex Teuten (Roderick Lock, Southampton)

Andy Vernon (Nic Bideau, Aldershot Farnham & District)


Senior Mixed Relay:

Alex Bell (Andrew Henderson, Pudsey & Bramley)

Adam Clarke (Geoff Watkin, Aldershot Farnham & District)

Tom Marshall (James Thie, Cardiff AC)

Laura Muir (Andy Young, Dundee Hawkhill)


U20 Women:

Phoebe Barker (Richard Owen, Tonbridge)

Niamh Brown (Mick Woods, Aldershot Farnham & District)

Cari Hughes (Andrew Walling, Swansea)

Khahisa Mhlanga (Mick Judd, Chelmsford)

Eloise Walker (John Lees, Edinburgh)

Erin Wallace (Dudley Walker, Giffnock North)


U20 Men:

Jake Heyward (James Thie, Cardiff)

Ricky Lutakome (Nick Hancock, Sutton & District)

Tom Mortimer (Christopher Brown, Stroud)

Hugh Sadler (David Bedwell, Bristol & West)

Lachlan Wellington (Vince Stamp, City of Portsmouth)

Matthew Willis (Self-coached, Wrexham)