23rd July 2021


Three additional athletes have been selected to the ParalympicsGB athletics team for the Paralympic Games in Tokyo next month, fulfilling the allocation of quota places and joining the 44 athletes recently confirmed.

Fabienne André, Shaun Burrows and Melanie Woods all join the team in Tokyo, and all three will make their debut appearances at a Paralympic Games.

André secured double European gold in Bydgoszcz in June this year, winning the T34 100m and 800m titles and she will join Hannah Cockroft and Kare Adenegan in those events in Japan.

Burrows returned to the British squad at the Europeans earlier this year following several years of injury after he won world T38 400m bronze in 2015. The Charnwood athlete also won the silver medal in the event.

Like André, Woods is a British Athletics Futures Academy athlete, and she earns a call-up to the team in the T54 400m and 800m. The Scottish athlete improved her best times over the distances to 56.16 and 1:52.40 respectively during the 2021 season and also competed at the European Para Athletics Championships earlier this year.

Penny Briscoe, ParalympicsGB Chef de Mission said: “Welcoming Paralympic Games debutants to the team is always a great pleasure, and I am delighted that Fabienne, Shaun and Melanie now have the opportunity to showcase their talent and ability on the biggest stage of all at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games this summer. I would like to congratulate all three athletes on their selection and look forward to joining them on their journey to Japan.”

The ParalympicsGB Athletics team selected for the 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games:


Kare Adenegan (Job King, Coventry) – T34 100m and 800m

Fabienne André (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T34 100m and 800m

Hollie Arnold (David Turner, Blackheath and Bromley) – F46 Javelin

Olivia Breen (Aston Moore, City of Portsmouth) – T38 Long Jump and 100m

Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat, Forth Valley Flyers) – F51 Club Throw

Lydia Church (Jim Edwards; Peterborough and Nene Valley) – F12 Shot Put

Libby Clegg (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) [guide runner: Chris Clarke] – T11 200m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks, Leeds) – T34 100m and 800m

Kadeena Cox (Joe McDonnell, Sale Harriers Manchester) – T38 400m

Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson, Deeside) – F20 Shot Put

Sophie Hahn (Leon Baptiste, Charnwood) – T38 100m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk, Bristol and West) – T64 100m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Sammi Kinghorn (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) – T53 100m, 400m, 800m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Maria Lyle (Jamie Bowie, Team East Lothian) – T35 100m and 200m

Polly Maton (Colin Baross; Team Devizes) – T47 Long Jump

Anna Nicholson (Richard Kaufman; Gateshead) – F35 Shot Put

Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood, British Wheelchair Athletics Association) – F32 Club Throw

Stef Reid (Aston Moore, Charnwood) – T64 Long Jump

Hannah Taunton (Charlotte Fisher; Taunton) – T20 1500m

Ali Smith (Benke Blomkvist; Guildford & Godalming) – T38 100m, 400m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Vanessa Wallace (Alison O’Riordan, Enfield and Haringey) – F34 Shot Put

Melanie Woods (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) – T54 400m and 800m



Columba Blango (Chris Zah; Shaftesbury Barnet) – T20 400m

Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Graham Ravenscroft, Newham and Essex Beagles) – T64 High Jump

Shaun Burrows (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) – T38 400m

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks, Harlow) – T54 400m, 800m and 1500m

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones, Cardiff) – F63 Shot Put

David Devine (Anthony Clarke, Liverpool) – T13 5000m

Kyron Duke (Ryan Spencer-Jones, DSW Para Academy) – F41 Shot Put

Dan Greaves (Zane Duquemin, Charnwood) – F64 Discus

Harri Jenkins (Nathan Stephens, DSW Para Academy) – T33 100m

Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins; Kirkby) – T54 400m, 800m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Owen Miller (Steven Doig, Fife) – T20 1500m

Luke Nuttall (Alison Wyeth, Charnwood) – T46 1500m

Jonnie Peacock (Dan Pfaff, Charnwood) – T64 100m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Dan Pembroke (David Turner; Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) – F13 Javelin

Derek Rae (Ron Morrison, Fife) – T46 Marathon

Ben Rowlings (Coventry) – T34 100m and 800m

Daniel Sidbury (Christine Parsloe; Sutton & District) – T54 400m, 800m, 1500m and 5000m

Zak Skinner (Aston Moore; Loughborough Students) – T13 Long Jump and 100m

Andrew Small (Rick Hoskins, Stockport) – T33 100m

JohnBoy Smith (Christine Parsloe) – T54 Marathon

Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman, Kirkby) – T34 800m

Harrison Walsh (Nathan Stephens; Swansea) – F64 Discus

David Weir (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T54 1500m, 5000m and Marathon

Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine, Southwell) – T61 200m

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) – T38 100m