4th August 2021


Ola Abidogun, Hetty Bartlett and James Freeman have been added to the ParalympicsGB athletics team for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games taking place later this month.

All three athletes have been added following the redistribution of slots in their events by the International Paralympic Committee.

Ola Abidogun (coach: Steve Thomas, club: Horwich), a 2012 Paralympic bronze medallist, will compete in the men’s T47 100m. He also won bronze at the most recent European Para Athletics Championships and reached the world final back in 2019.

British Athletics Futures Academy athletes Hetty Bartlett (Denis Costello, City of Norwich) and James Freeman (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) join the ParalympicsGB team for their first Games.

Bartlett will compete in the women’s T38 long jump alongside the already selected Olivia Breen, while Freeman will join compatriots Harri Jenkins and Andrew Small in the men’s T33 100m.

There are now 51 members of the ParalympicsGB athletics team heading to Tokyo.

The ParalympicsGB Athletics team selected for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games:


Kare Adenegan (Job King, Coventry) – T34 100m and 800m

Fabienne André (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T34 100m and 800m

Hollie Arnold (David Turner, Blackheath and Bromley) – F46 Javelin

Hetty Bartlett (Denis Costello, City of Norwich) – T38 Long Jump

Olivia Breen (Aston Moore, City of Portsmouth) – T38 Long Jump and 100m

Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat, Forth Valley Flyers) – F51 Club Throw

Lydia Church (Jim Edwards; Peterborough and Nene Valley) – F12 Shot Put

Libby Clegg (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) [guide runner: Chris Clarke] – T11 200m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks, Leeds) – T34 100m and 800m

Kadeena Cox (Joe McDonnell, Sale Harriers Manchester) – T38 400m

Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson, Deeside) – F20 Shot Put

Sophie Hahn (Leon Baptiste, Charnwood) – T38 100m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk, Bristol and West) – T64 100m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Sammi Kinghorn (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) – T53 100m, 400m, 800m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Maria Lyle (Jamie Bowie, Team East Lothian) – T35 100m and 200m

Polly Maton (Colin Baross; Team Devizes) – T47 Long Jump

Anna Nicholson (Richard Kaufman; Gateshead) – F35 Shot Put

Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood, British Wheelchair Athletics Association) – F32 Club Throw

Stef Reid (Aston Moore, Charnwood) – T64 Long Jump

Hannah Taunton (Charlotte Fisher; Taunton) – T20 1500m

Ali Smith (Benke Blomkvist; Guildford & Godalming) – T38 100m, 400m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Vanessa Wallace (Alison O’Riordan, Enfield and Haringey) – F34 Shot Put

Melanie Woods (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) – T54 400m and 800m



Ola Abidogun (coach: Steve Thomas, club: Horwich) – T47 100m

Columba Blango (Chris Zah; Shaftesbury Barnet) – T20 400m

Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Graham Ravenscroft, Newham and Essex Beagles) – T64 High Jump

Shaun Burrows (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) – T38 400m

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks, Harlow) – T54 400m, 800m and 1500m

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones, Cardiff) – F63 Shot Put

David Devine (Anthony Clarke, Liverpool) – T13 5000m

Kyron Duke (Ryan Spencer-Jones, DSW Para Academy) – F41 Shot Put

James Freeman (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T33 100m

Dan Greaves (Zane Duquemin, Charnwood) – F64 Discus

Harri Jenkins (Nathan Stephens, DSW Para Academy) – T33 100m

Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins; Kirkby) – T54 400m, 800m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Owen Miller (Steven Doig, Fife) – T20 1500m

Luke Nuttall (Alison Wyeth, Charnwood) – T46 1500m

Jonnie Peacock (Dan Pfaff, Charnwood) – T64 100m and 4x100m Universal Relay

Dan Pembroke (David Turner; Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) – F13 Javelin

Derek Rae (Ron Morrison, Fife) – T46 Marathon

Ben Rowlings (Coventry) – T34 100m and 800m

Daniel Sidbury (Christine Parsloe; Sutton & District) – T54 400m, 800m, 1500m and 5000m

Zak Skinner (Aston Moore; Loughborough Students) – T13 Long Jump and 100m

Andrew Small (Rick Hoskins, Stockport) – T33 100m

JohnBoy Smith (Christine Parsloe) – T54 Marathon

Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman, Kirkby) – T34 800m

Harrison Walsh (Nathan Stephens; Swansea) – F64 Discus

David Weir (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T54 1500m, 5000m and Marathon

Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine, Southwell) – T61 200m

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) – T38 100m