3rd March 2022


Katarina Johnson-Thompson (coach: Petros Kyprianou, club: Liverpool), Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne, Andover) and Charlie Da’Vall Grice (Brighton Phoenix) have been added to the British team for the World Athletics Indoor Championships in Belgrade, Serbia later this month.

Reigning pentathlon champion Katarina Johnson-Thompson and Holly Mills have received invitations from World Athletics, which have been accepted by UK Athletics, to compete in the five-event competition in Belgrade next month.

Johnson-Thompson has won two medals at the World Athletics Indoor Championship, winning long jump silver back in 2014 in addition to her 2018 gold medal triumph. As for Mills, the 21-year-old competed for Great Britain and Northern Ireland at last year’s European Indoor Championships, placing fifth overall.

Following Elliot Giles’ World Indoor Tour series victory in Madrid on Wednesday, Charlie Da’Vall Grice has been added to the team to compete in the men’s 800m. Series winners receive a wildcard from World Athletics to compete at the Championships, so Great Britain and Northern Ireland will now have three representatives in the 800m field.

The additions take the team up to 36 members. Any further invitations from World Athletics will be issued after 9 March. These will be accepted by UK Athletics provided the invited athlete(s) meet the eligibility criteria and to the satisfaction of the Panel, demonstrate current form and fitness in 2022 which suggests that they are capable of being competitive in Belgrade.

The British team for the World Athletics Indoor Championships, Belgrade, Serbia, 18-20 March:

Women’s 60m

Cheyanne Evans-Gray (Nat Senior, Croydon)

Daryll Neita (Marco Airale, Cambridge Harriers)

Women’s 400m

Jessie Knight (Marina Armstrong, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)

Ama Pipi (Marco Airale, Enfield and Haringey)

Women’s 800m

Keely Hodgkinson (Trevor Painter, Leigh)

Jenny Selman (Lewis Walker, Fife)

Women’s 1500m

Erin Wallace (Andy Young, Giffnock North)

Women’s 3000m

Amy-Eloise Markovc (Chris Fox, Wakefield)

Amelia Quirk (Mick Woods, Bracknell)

Women’s 60m Hurdles

Megan Marrs (Alex Nwenwu, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)

Women’s Long Jump

Jazmin Sawyers (Lance Braunman, City of Stoke)

Lorraine Ugen (Dwight Phillips, Thames Valley)

Women’s Shot Put

Sophie McKinna (Great Yarmouth)

Women’s Pentathlon

Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Petros Kyprianou, Liverpool)

Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne, Andover)

Women’s 4x400m Relay

Keely Hodgkinson (Trevor Painter, Leigh)

Yemi Mary John (Alan James, Woodford Green Essex Ladies)

Jessie Knight (Marina Armstrong, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)

Ama Pipi (Marco Airale, Enfield and Haringey)

Victoria Ohuruogu (Newham and Essex Beagles)

Hannah Williams (Steve Fudge, Herts Phoenix)

Men’s 60m

Andrew Robertson (Sale Harriers Manchester)

Adam Thomas (Bracknell)

Men’s 400m

Ed Faulds (James Wright, Rugby and Northampton)

Men’s 800m

Charlie Da’Vall Grice (Brighton Phoenix)

Elliot Giles (Jon Bigg, Birchfield)

Guy Learmonth (Justin Rinaldi, Lasswade)

Men’s 1500m

Neil Gourley (Ben Thomas, Giffnock North)

George Mills (Brighton Phoenix)

Men’s 3000m

Jamaine Coleman (Preston)

Marc Scott (Jerry Schumacher, Richmond and Zetland)

Men’s 60m Hurdles

David King (Tim O’Neil, City of Plymouth)

Andrew Pozzi (Stratford-upon-Avon)

Men’s Shot Put

Scott Lincoln (Paul Wilson, City of York)

Men’s 4x400m Relay

Ed Faulds (James Wright, Rugby and Northampton)

Alex Haydock-Wilson (Benke Blomkvist, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)

Ben Higgins (Stewart Marshall, Sheffield & Dearne)

Samuel Reardon (Nigel Stickings, Blackheath and Bromley)

Thomas Somers (Newham and Essex Beagles)

James Williams (Paul Waters, Liverpool)