21st June 2017

Team of 54 to #represent at European Under-23 Championships

British Athletics today announced a 54 strong team which will head to Bydgoszcz, Poland for the European Under-23 Championships to be held between 13-16 July 2017.

Olympic 4x100m bronze medallist Daryll Neita (coach: Jonas Dodoo) and the ever-improving Ojie Edoburun (Dodoo) headline the team after both earned selection for the women’s and men’s 100m and 4x100m relay respectively. The pair impressively revised their personal bests at last weekend’s trials event in Bedford, Neita to 11.20 and Edoburun to 10.12.

It also means that Edoburun is one of six European Junior gold medallists from 2015 to have earned a call-up to the U23 championships. He will be joined by former team-mates Alex George (Paul de-Camps) (5000m), Cheriece Hylton (Freckleton) (4x400m relay), Shannon Hylton (Ryan Freckleton) (200m & 4x100m), Morgan Lake (Fuzz Caan) (High Jump) and Imani Lansiquot (Dodoo) (100m and 4x100m).

Two medallists from the 2015 edition of the Under-23 championships will return to try and repeat the feat. Neil Gourley (Ben Thomas) and Chris Kandu (Fuzz Caan) both won bronze medals in Talinn, the former in the 1500m, and the latter excelling in the high jump. They will both compete in the same events in July.

There are also high hopes for Jamaine Coleman (Andy Bibby) and Aimee Pratt (Vicent Modahl) in the 3000m steeplechase. Jess Judd (Mick Judd) is selected for the 1500m and 5000m after an impressive run of form, most recently running a personal best over 1500m at a BMC meeting in Watford earlier this month, recording 4:05.20.

After a personal best of 5873 points last weekend in the Czech Republic, Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton) will take on the heptathlon, whilst Tim Duckworth (Toby Stevenson) who has impressed in recent months with a personal best of 7973 points, leads the charge in the men’s decathlon.

David Parker, the Team Leader of the British team, commented upon selection:

“I am delighted to pick such a strong British Athletics squad to represent the country and take on Europe’s best in the age group. We have a number of athletes who are ranked highly in the 2017 standings, so we will go in to the championships with many of medal contenders, and plenty who will be looking to step up and place highly in finals.

“We have selected 54 athletes across a variety of disciplines which is particularly encouraging. We saw some great performances in Bedford last weekend, and I hope they can continue that form in Poland next month.”

The full British Athletics team for the European U23 Championships, Bydgoszcz, Poland between 13-16 July 2017:


100m: Imani Lansiquot (Jonas Dodoo) and Daryll Neita (Jonas Dodoo)

200m: Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice), Shannon Hylton (Ryan Freckleton), and Ama Pipi (Ronnye Harrison)

400m: Laviai Nielsen (Frank Adams)

800m: Hannah Segrave (Chris Layne)

1500m: Jess Judd (Mick Judd) and Amy Griffiths (Rob Denmark)

5000m: Jess Judd

10,000m: Philippa Bowden (Mick Woods), Phoebe Law (Mick Woods) and Jenny Nesbitt (David Walker)

3000m Steeplechase: Aimee Pratt (Vicente Modahl)

100m Hurdles: Yasmin Miller (Robert Smith)

400m Hurdles: Jessica Turner (Nick Dakin)

High Jump: Morgan Lake (Fuzz Caan)

Pole Vault: Lucy Bryan (Alan Richardson)

Discus: Amy Holder (Neville Thompson)

Heptathlon: Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton)

4x100m relay: Finette Agyapong, Shannon Hylton, Imani Lansiquot, Daryll Neita, Yasmin Miller, Diani Walker (Lloyd Cowan)

4x400m relay: Cheriece Hylton (Ryan Freckleton), Laviai Nielsen, Lina Nielsen (Frank Adams), Ama Pipi, Kelsey Stewart (Ken Hogg), Jess Turner


100m: Reuben Arthur (Ryan Freckelton), Joseph Dewar (Gladys Bird) and Ojie Edoburun (Jonas Dodoo)

400m: Cameron Chalmers (James Hillier)

800m: Daniel Rowden (Richard Thurston / John Stow)

1500m: Robbie Fitzgibbon (Jon Bigg), Neil Gourley (Ben Thomas), James West (George Gandy / Mark Hookway)

5000m: Alex George (Paul de-Camps) *subject to fitness

10,000m: Ellis Cross (Mick Woods)

3000m Steeplechase: Jamaine Coleman (Andy Bibby) and Daniel Jarvis (Mick Woods)

110m Hurdles: Khai Riley-La Borde (Ray Gibbins / Richard Turner) and James Weaver (Laura Turner-Alleyne)

400m Hurdles: Jack Lawrie (Roy Buchanan) and Jacob Paul (Marina Armstrong)

20km Walk: Cameron Corbishley (Andi Drake)

High Jump: Chris Kandu (Fuzz Caan)

Pole Vault: Charlie Myers (Chris Boundy)

Long Jump: Jacob Fincham-Dukes (Zivile Pukstiene)

Javelin: Harry Hughes (Michael McNeil) *subject to fitness

Hammer: Taylor Campbell (John Pearson)

Decathlon: Tim Duckworth (Toby Stevenson)

4x100m: Reuben Arthur, Joseph Dewar, Kyle de Escofet (Andy Paul), Ojie Edoburun, Theo Etienne (Ryan Freckleton) and Chris Stone (Connell MacQuisten)

4x400m relay: Cameron Chalmers, Sam Hazel (Jane Dixon), Elliot Rutter (Tony Hadley), Ben Snaith (Mick Graham), Tom Somers (Benke Blomkvist), Lee Thompson (John Henson)




British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) have today announced a maximum team of 20 athletes for the World University Games to be held in Chinese Taipei from 19-30 August.

Aberdeen University student Zoey Clark (Eddie McKenna) has been in scintillating form in 2017 over 400m, a 51.84 clocking in Geneva earlier this month was a lifetime best. The Scottish athlete was part of the gold medal-winning 4x400m relay team at the European U23 championships in 2015, but will go in the individual 400m in Taipei.

John Lane (Toni Minichiello) is one of the standout names in the men’s decathlon, and after a personal best of 7965 points earlier this year in California, he will be hoping to show that kind of form again in August. In the men’s pole vault, Charlie Myers (Chris Boundy), fresh from personal best clearance of 5.45m a couple of weeks ago, will be targeting success at his first international student Games.

Elsewhere, Jess Judd (Mick Judd) and Charlotte Taylor have been selected for the 5000m, whilst St Mary’s University’s Adelle Tracey (Craig Winrow) takes on the 800m. After some impressive displays in recent weeks, Melissa Courtney (Rob Denmark) and Sarah McDonald (David Harmer / Bud Baldaro) will be strong contenders for the medal positions in the women’s 1500m.

British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS), the national governing body for High Education (HE) sport, is responsible for delivering Great Britain representative teams in the worldwide international university sporting programme.

More information for the World University Games can be found here: bucs.org.uk/taipei

The British team for the World University Games to be held in Taipei, Chinese Taipei between 19-30 August 2017:


100m: Corinne Humphreys (Darren Braithwaite)

400m: Zoey Clark (Eddie McKenna)

800m: Adelle Tracey (Craig Winrow)

1500m: Melissa Courtney (Rob Denmark) and Sarah McDonald (David Harmer / Bud Baldaro)

5000m: Jess Judd (Mick Judd) and Charlotte Taylor

10,000m: Jenny Nesbitt (David Walker) and Louise Small (Mick Woods)

100m Hurdles: Alicia Barrett (Toni Minichiello)

400m Hurdles: Jessica Turner (Nick Dakin)

Shot Put: Amelia Strickler (Paul Wilson)


100m: Samuel Osewa (Leon Baptiste)

1500m: Jonathan Davies (Rob McKim)

3000m Steeplechase: Zak Seddon (Jeff Seddon)

400m Hurdles: Jacob Paul (Marina Armstrong)

High Jump: Allan Smith (Bryan Roy)

Pole Vault: Charlie Myers (Chris Boundy)

Long Jump: Daniel Gardiner (John Crotty / Mike Stayman)

Decathlon: John Lane (Toni Minichiello)