9th June 2022


Several British athletes were in action on day one of the World Para Athletics Grand Prix in Paris.

Paralympic champion, Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) stormed to victory in the men’s T38 100m, winning in a time of 10.96 (-0.5) ahead of France’s Dmitri Jozwicki [11.27] and Australia’s Evan O’Hanlon [11.36]. Shaun Burrows (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) was fifth in 11.54. Meanwhile,  Jahziah Williams (Joe McDonnell, Eastbourne) ran 13.08 in the heats but did not advance to the final.

Sophie Hahn (Leon Baptiste, Charnwood) was second in the women’s T38 100m behind Hungary’s Luca Ekler. The Paralympic champion, Hahn ran 12.86 (0.8) to Ekler’s 12.66 – the Briton had run 12.81 (0.2) in the heats. Olivia Breen (Aston Moore, City of Portsmouth) ran a season best of 13.12 for fourth in the final, with Hetty Bartlett (Denis Costello, City of Norwich) fifth in 13.65.

In a mixed classification discus throw competition, F38 athlete, Michael Jenkins (Ryan Spencer-Jones, Pembrokeshire) won with a European record of 52.48m, improving Oleksandr Doroshenko’s previous record of 45.72m. F44 athlete’s Harrison Walsh (Swansea) was third overall with a best of 54.50m, and Zachary Tandy (Nathan Stephens, DSW Para Academy) threw a best of 41.46m.

Zac Shaw (Leon Baptiste, Cleethorpes) took the win in the men’s T12 100m after a season best of 10.93 (0.2) in the final. He had qualified for the final in 10.94, so he maintained his consistency for success in Paris.

In the T11 100m, James Ledger (Matt Elias, DSW Para Academy) and guide, Makoyewas Kampengele were second in the final in a time of 11.72 (0.2) behind Greece’s Athanasios Ghavelas who ran 11.00.

Emmanuel Oyinbo-Coker (Newham and Essex Beagles) was second in the men’s T47 100m final ahead of his compatriot, Ola Abidogun (Steve Thomas, Horwich) who was fourth; their times 11.20 and 11.27 respectively. Oyinbo-Coker was slightly slower than his heat which he had won in 11.17 (-0.6), while Abidogun improved from 11.49 in his heat.

Ben Pearson (Joe McDonnell, Loughborough Students) was sixth in the men’s T44/62/64 100m with a time of 12.24, following up a 12.14 (-0.4) clocking in the heats.

Next on track, Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk, Bristol & West) was fifth in the women’s T44/62/64 100m, crossing the line in a season best of 13.47 (1.1), having qualified for the final in a time of 13.67 (0.2) in the heats a few hours earlier.

In the women’s F35/37 shot put, Paralympian Anna Nicholson (Richard Kaufman, Gateshead) ended the competition in third overall with the best throw of her series measuring at 7.67m. Millie Forrest (Robert Halliwell, Wigan & District) was fourth and her furthest throw of 7.60m came on the final attempt.

Also in the field, Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes, DSW Para Academy) threw a season best of 12.50m in the men’s F41 shot put for third place; the competition was won by Niko Kappel (GER) in 14.78m.

Earlier in the day, Bethan Griffiths (Shelley Holroyd, Cheltenham) and Kirsty Soutar (John Owens, Red Star) finished sixth and seventh respectively in the women’s F31/32 club throw. The best of Griffiths’ series came on her first attempt, with a mark of 15.48m, while Soutar’s furthest throw measured in at 14.63m.

There was a fourth place for Jade Smith (MadRunners) in the T12 1500m as she finished in a time of 5:38.38 in a race won by the American, Lisa Corso in 4:32.81.

Elsewhere, Steven Bryce (Victoria Park City of Glasgow) was sixth in the men’s T20 1500m in a time of 4:08.70.