8th September 2017

Sportswoman of the Year Awards open for nominations

Now in their 30th year, the Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2017 (in association with Vitality) were launched last Sunday (3 September). The Awards are a nationwide call for public nominations following the past nine months of sport, with the contribution to sport made by elite athletes, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and inspirational women all celebrated.

Previous winners of the main award – the coveted Sportswoman of the Year accolade – from the world of athletics include Sally Gunnell, Denise Lewis, Dame Kelly Holmes, Tanni Grey-Thompson, Paula Radcliffe, Christine Ohuruogu and, most recently in 2015, Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill.

There are seven award categories as listed below, with the British and Northern Ireland public invited to submit nominations at www.sportswomenoftheyear.co.uk (the nomination process closes at midday on Monday 25 September) ahead of the awards ceremony on Thursday 26 October.

1. The Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year 2017
The ultimate accolade for your favourite Sportswoman of this year

2. Young Sportswoman of the Year
Nominees must have been 21 or younger on January 1, 2017

3. Vitality Team of the Year
Celebrating the achievements of Britain’s successful collective efforts

4. Disability Sportswoman of the Year
The outstanding performer in a disability sport

5. Community Award
For individuals who have actively engaged with different groups of people within their community through sport

6. The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration
Recognising inspirational endeavour in honour of the late sports presenter Helen Rollason

7. Lifetime Achievement Award
Recognising a lifetime of sporting success