9th December 2019


British Athletics has today announced the 46 athletes who have been offered membership to the Olympic and Paralympic Futures Academy programmes – supported by Nike – for 2020.

There are 9 new additions to the Olympic Futures Academy including four reigning European Under-20 champions; Amber Anning (coach: Lloyd Cowan; club: Brighton & Hove) [400m & 4x400m], Oliver Dustin (Graeme Mason; Border) [800m], Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) [200m & 4x100m] and Joshua Zeller (Adrian Brown; Bracknell) [110m Hurdles].

Hunt was in blistering form in 2019 as she set a world U18 200m record, clocking 22.42 which moved her to third on the UK all-time list behind Dina Asher-Smith and Kathy Cook. She claimed gold over the distance in Boras before returning to the track later in the championships as part of the victorious women’s 4x100m relay team.

European Under-23 200m champion Shemar Boldizsar (Vincent Lawrence; Harlow) and 110m hurdles bronze medal winner Cameron Fillery (Michael Baker; Woodford Green Essex Ladies) also join the programme.

Among the athletes retained are 800m sensation Max Burgin (Ian Burgin; Halifax) who ran a stunning 1:45.36 in Bedford earlier in the season, while 800m and 4x400m gold medallist from the European Under-20 Championships, Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn; Enfield & Haringey) also continues to receive support from the programme.

Seven athletes have been offered membership to the Paralympic Futures Academy for the first time, among them are Lydia Church (Jim Edwards; Peterborough & Nene Valley) who was fifth in the F12 shot put on her senior debut at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai.

Fourth placer in the T38 100m and 200m at the World Para Athletics Junior Championships, Alexander Thomson (Thomas Graham; Whitemoss), and the returning to form Danny Sidbury (Christine Parsloe; Sutton & District) have also been offered membership.

Among those retained are Thomas Young (McDonnell; Charnwood) who clinched world T38 100m silver in November, and double world junior silver medallist in the T44 100m and 200m, Kirsty Taylor (McDonnell; DSW Para Academy).

Previous Futures Academy athletes who have progressed through the performance pathway and onto the World Class Programme in recent years include world T33 100m bronze medallist, Harri Jenkins (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy), European finalist, Naomi Ogbeta (Tom Cullen; Trafford) and double European Under-23 champion, Jemma Reekie (Andy Young; Kilbarchan).

Click on the links for more information on the Paralympic Pathway and Olympic Pathway.


Paralympic Futures Academy:

Year one (7):

Fabienne André (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) – T34 100m

Hetti Bartlett (Denis Costello; City of Norwich) – T38 100m & 200m

Lydia Church (Jim Edwards; Peterborough & Nene Valley) – F12 Shot Put

Emmanuel Oyinbo-Coker (Coral Nourrice; Newham & Essex Beagles) – T47 100m

Steven Stone (Laurence Bissett; Falkirk) – T20 Long Jump

Danny Sidbury (Christine Parsloe; Sutton & District) – T54 800m – 5000m

Alexander Thomson (Thomas Graham; Whitemoss) – T38 100m & 200m

Year two (11):

John Bridge (Darrell Maynard; Cardiff) – T47 400m

Ed Clifton (Mike Wood; British Wheelchair Athletics Association) – F56 Discus

James Freeman (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) – T33 100m

Bethan Griffiths (Carolyn Franks; Cheltenham) – F32 Club Throw

Bulbul Hussain (Victoria Park & Tower Hamlets) – T51 100m

Owen Miller (Steven Doig; Fife) – T20 1500m

India Oates (Helen Bowles; Darlington) – T35 100m & 200m

Ross Paterson (John Kinder; Red Star) – T38 100m & 200m

Kirsty Taylor (Joe McDonnell; DSW Para Academy) – T44 100m & 200m

Harrison Walsh (Josh Clarke; Swansea) – F44 Shot Put & Discus

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – T38 100m & 200m *


Olympic Futures Academy:

Year One (9):

Amber Anning (Lloyd Cowan; Brighton & Hove) – 400m**

Jeremiah Azu (Helen James; Cardiff) – 100m

Shemar Boldizsar (Vincent Lawrence; Harlow) – 200m

Oliver Dustin (Graeme Mason; Border) – 800m

Cameron Fillery (Michael Baker; Woodford Green Essex Ladies) – 110m Hurdles

Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – 200m

Lucy-Jane Matthews (Alan Richardson; Birchfield Harriers) – 100m Hurdles

Ben Pattison (Dave Ragan; Basingstoke & Mid Hants) – 800m

Josh Zeller (Adrian Brown; Bracknell AC) – 110m Hurdles**

Year Two (15):

Sam Bennett (Steven Surety; Basildon) – 110m Hurdles**

Alex Botterill (Andrew Henderson; City of York) – 800m

Max Burgin (Ian Burgin; Halifax) – 800m

Lewis Byng (Stuart Carlaw; Stratford-upon-Avon) – Shot Put

Molly Caudery (Stuart Caudery; Thames Valley) – Pole Vault**

Alastair Chalmers (Matt Elias; Guernsey) – 400m Hurdles

Charlie Dobson (Benke Blomkvist; Colchester) – 200m

Lucy Hadaway (Matt Barton; City of York) – Long Jump

Keely Hodgkinson (Trevor Painter; Leigh) – 800m

Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson; Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow) – Hammer**

Divine Oladipo (John Hillier; Blackheath & Bromley) – Shot Put**

Jade O’Dowda – (Toni Minichiello; Oxford City) – Combined Events

Dominic Ogbechie (Marius Guei; Highgate) – High Jump & Long Jump

Serena Vincent (Bronwin Carter; City of Portsmouth) – Shot Put

Erin Wallace (Andy Young; Giffnock North) – 1500m

Year Three (4):

Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn; Enfield & Haringey) – 800m

Jona Efoloko (Michael Afilaka; Sale Harriers Manchester) – 200m

Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne; Andover) – Combined Events

James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen; Pembrokeshire) – Discus


* Athletes marked with an asterisk are on both the Paralympic Futures and World Class Programme. They can be fast-tracked onto the WCP but are far less experienced in other aspects of sport. It is therefore compulsory for the athletes to go through the Futures Programme for the education and experience to ensure they are better prepared for international competition.

**Athletes marked with a double asterisk are part of the NCAA and will be accessing a reduced programme due to regulations. The programme will develop relationships with their coaches and provide support when back in the UK in preparation for major championships.