11th July 2017

Final athletes selected for European Juniors

British Athletics today confirmed its second wave of athlete selections ahead of the European Junior Championships in Grosseto, Italy on July 20-23.

Consisting of 23 additions, these second wave selections strengthen the team to 55 on the back of the 32 automatic selections announced three weeks ago following the official trials in Bedford.

Reigning world youth bronze medallist Rechmial Miller (coach: Ryan Freckleton) gains selection for the 100m and 4x100m following a return to fitness, while victory at Mannheim International in his third quickest time ever sees 2016’s European Youth champion Jona Efoloko (John Smith) confirm his spot for the 200m and 4x100m.

Amelia Quirk’s (Beverley Kitching) form this year sees her accompany Jemma Reekie (Andy Young) and Harriet-Knowles Jones (Paul Roden) in the 1500m, while James Gormley (John Wood) leads the trio of male selections for the men’s equivalent following a huge lifetime best in Watford last month. Selected for the 1500m in wave one, Reekie is now also confirmed to contest the 3000m at the championships.

Having won bronze at the European Youth Championships last season, sprint hurdler Jason Nicholson (Janice Kaufman) already has international experience, and won silver at the English Schools Championships last weekend, edged out by 0.02 of a second by the already selected Cameron Fillery (Trevor Simcox). Trials winner Robert Sakala (Piotr Spas) has also now achieved the qualification time, ensuring there will be a full complement of male sprint hurdlers heading for Grosseto.

Already named on the team in the first wave of selections was Europe’s top ranked junior in the 100m hurdles, Alicia Barrett (Toni Minichiello), who has lowered the British junior record by a significant six hundredths of a second to 13.07 this year.

Another athlete ranked number one in Europe is 800m specialist Markhim Lonsdale (Keith Lonsdale), while Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson), Alisha Rees (Willy Russell) and Niamh Emerson (David Feeney), all medallists at last year’s inaugural European Youth Championships, were all included during the initial selection meeting.

British Athletics’ Team Manager for the championships, Jo Summers said:

“We are delighted with this 55-strong team; alongside a number of medal winners and finalists from last year’s IAAF World Junior Championships and European Youth Championships, we have a crop of athletes brimming with potential following great starts to 2017.

“Following the first wave of selections we’ve seen a number of athletes step up superbly to gain qualifying marks, and I have every faith that come the championships many of those same athletes will perform to the best of their ability while gaining invaluable championship experience.

“Two years ago the British team outdid themselves in Eskilstuna, with a number of those athletes already making the step up to the senior team in just two years. The class of 2015 certainly set the bar high, but we’ll hopefully we’ll see a similarly successful championship in Grosseto.”

The full British Athletics team for the European Junior Championships in Grosseto, Italy on June 20-23:

100m: Oliver Bromby (Sara MacDonald-Gray), Dom Ashwell (Marvin Rowe), Rechmial Miller (Ryan Freckleton)
200m: Toby Harries (Jon Bigg), Nick Stewart (Ryan Freckleton), Jona Efoloko (John Smith)
400m: Owen Richardson (John Davis)
800m: Markhim Lonsdale (Keith Lonsdale), Ben Greenwood (Catriona Helen Tavendale), Canaan Soloman (Richard Thurston)
1500m: James Gormley (John Wood), Jake Heyward (Paul Darney), Archie Davis (Joel Kidger)
5000m: Tom Mortimer (Christopher Brown)
3000m Steeplechase: Will Battershill (Kevin Saretsky)
110m Hurdles: Cameron Fillery (Trevor Simcox), Robert Sakala (Piotr Spas), Jason Nicholson (Janice Kaufman)
400m Hurdles: Alex Knibbs (Julie Feeney)
4x100m: Dom Ashwell (Marvin Rowe), Oliver Bromby (Sara MacDonald-Gray), Eden Davies (Catherine Walker), Jona Efoloko (John Smith), Kristian Jones (Helen Patricia Jones), Rechmial Miller (Ryan Freckleton)
High Jump: Tom Gale (Denis Doyle), Joel Khan (Dierdre Elmhirst), Thomas Hewes (John Herbert)
Pole Vault: Joel Leon-Benitez (Alan Richardson)
Discus: George Evans (Colin McCulloch)
Javelin: James Whiteaker
Hammer: Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson)
Combined Events: Sam Talbot (Martin Brockman)

Olivia Okoli (Anthony Childs)
200m: Alisha Rees (Willy Russell), Maya Bruney (John Blackie)
400m: Hannah Williams (Colin Gaynor), Lauren Russell (Coral Nourrice)
800m: Khahisa Mhlanga (Mick Judd), Ellie Baker (George Harrison)
1500m: Jemma Reekie (Andy Young), Harriet Knowles-Jones (Paul Roden)
3000m: Jemma Reekie (Andy Young)
3000m Steeplechase: Emily Moyes (Mick Woods)
100m Hurdles: Alicia Barrett (Toni Minichiello), Sophie Yorke (David Warner)
400m Hurdles: Orla Brothers (Marina Armstrong)
4x100m: Hannah Brier (Steve Fudge), Maya Bruney (John Blackie), Ebony Carr (Mike Leonard), Jazz Crawford (Piotr Spas), Olivia Okoli (Anthony Childs)
4x400m: Ella Barrett (Toni Minchiello), Orla Brothers (Marina Armstrong), Jill Cherry (Allan Scott), Mair Edwards (John Davis), Lauren Russell (Coral Nourrice), Hannah Williams (Colin Gaynor)
Pole Vault: Molly Caudery (Stuart Caudery)
Triple Jump: Naomi Ogbeta (Tom Cullen), Emily Gargan (Sam Stanislaus)
Shot: Divine Oladipo (John Hillier)
Discus: Divine Oladipo
Combined Events: Holly McArthur (Ian McEwan), Niamh Emerson (David Feeney