19th August 2018


As one European Championship drew to a close last week, another one begins tomorrow as a team of 51 will represent Great Britain and Northern Ireland at the World Para Athletics European Championships in Berlin, Germany from 20-26 August.

On the back of the most successful haul of medals at a WPA European Championships in the modern era – back in 2016, where the British team amassed 56 medals – a British team full of experience and fresh faces are back as the road to Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games continues.

17 medallists from the 2016 edition return to the stage in the German capital, including nine athletes who will be targeting a defence of their titles.

Among them are Aled Davies (Cardiff, Ryan Spencer-Jones) who has won everything in the sport and will be seeking an unprecedented triple double this time around in the F63 shot put and discus.

Fresh from a 200m world record at the Muller Anniversary Games last month, Sophie Hahn (Charnwood, Joe McDonnell) will be favourite in the T38 100m and 200m, with the prospect of a third medal up for grabs in the new universal (mixed classification) 4x100m relay which brings the programme to a close on 26th August.

Reigning Paralympic champions Hollie Arnold (Blackheath & Bromley, David Turner), Jo Butterfield (Forth Valley Flyers, Philip Peat), Hannah Cockroft (Leeds, Jenni Banks) and Richard Whitehead (Southwell, Keith Antoine) will all compete at the championships which are set to be a must-watch.

With a team bursting with 2017 world champions and medallists such as Stef Reid (Charnwood, Aston Moore), Olivia Breen (City of Portsmouth, Aston Moore), Maria Lyle (Team East Lothian, Jamie Bowie), Polly Maton (Devizes, Colin Baross), Jordan Howe (DSW Para Academy, Christian Malcolm) Stephen Miller (Gateshead, Ros Miller) and Isaac Towers (Blackpool, Wyre, Fylde, Peter Wyman / Jenni Banks), it promises to be a memorable seven days of high-quality action.

Another recent world record holder, Kare Adenegan (Coventry, Job King), will also feature in the T34 100m and 800m, looking for her first ever international gold medal at these championships. She broke the 100m world record at the London Stadium in July with a remarkable time of 16.80, the first time ever an athlete in the classification went sub 17 seconds.

But we also have the opportunity to see a number of debutants on the team – 17 in total. These include RaceRunners– a new discipline for T31/32 athletes using a custom-built frame called a RaceRunner– with four athletes making their maiden appearance in the British vest. RR3 athletes Hannah Dines (Janice Eaglesham), Kayleigh Haggo (Red Star, Janice Eaglesham), Gavin Drysdale (Red Star, Janice Eaglesham), and Rafi Solaiman (Sheffield & Dearne) will all go in those events for the first time ever at a major para athletics championship.

Sadly, due to an injury to her guide Tom Somers, Libby Clegg (Charnwood, Joe McDonnell) has withdrawn from the Championships, however, will be in Berlin and carry out her role as team captain alongside Richard Chiassaro (Harlow, Jenni Banks).

Additionally, Eve Walsh-Dann (North Down, Roger Sexton) will compete in the T38 100m and 200m, Kyle Keyworth (Manchester Harriers, Kes Salmon) in the men’s T38 equivalent, and Shaun White (Sutton & District, Christine Parsloe) in the T34 100m and 400m following the international classification process carried out by World Para Athletics (WPA) prior to the championships.

The WPA European Championships will be streamed live on the World Para Athletics website (https://www.paralympic.org/athletics) and the Channel 4 website (http://paralympics.channel4.com/) and on their Facebook page from Monday 20 August (16:30 UK time).


The British team for the WPA European Championships in Berlin from 20-26 August:

Kare Adenegan (Job King; Coventry) – T34 100m & 800m

Hollie Arnold (David Turner; Blackheath & Bromley) – F46 Javelin

James Arnott (Ryan Freckleton; City of Plymouth) – T47 100m, 200m

Graeme Ballard (Trevor Painter; Wigan & District) – T36 100m & 200m

Martina Barber (Paddy O’Shea; Stevenage & North Herts) – T20 Long Jump

Olivia Breen (Aston Moore; City of Portsmouth) – T38 100m

Sally Brown (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – T47 100m, 200m & 400m

Jo Butterfield (Philip Peat; Forth Valley) – F51 Club Throw

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks; Harlow) – T54 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m & 1500m

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks; Halifax) – T34 100m & 800m

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer Jones; Cardiff) – F63 Shot Put & Discus

David Devine (Anthony Clarke; Liverpool – T13 1500m & 5000m

Hannah Dines (Janice Eaglesham) – RR3 100m

Gavin Drysdale (Janice Eaglesham; Red Star) – RR3 100m

Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson; Deeside) – F20 Shot Put

Dan Greaves (Self-coached; Charnwood) –  F64 Discus

Kylie Grimes (Philip Peat; Coventry) – F51 Club Throw

Kayleigh Haggo (Janice Eaglesham; Ayr Seaforth) – RR3 100M

Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – T38 100m, 200m & 4x100m mixed relay

Callum Hall (Ian Thompson; Leeds) – T53 400m & 800m

Jordan Howe (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) – T35 100m & 200m

Harri Jenkins (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy) – T33 100m

Mo Jomni (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) – T53 100m, 200m & 400m

Rhys Jones (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) – T37 100m & 200m

Kyle Keyworth (Kes Salmon, Manchester) – T38 100m & 200m

Dillon Labrooy (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) – T54 400m, 800m & 1500m

Maria Lyle (Jamie Bowie; Team East Lothian) – T35 100m & 200m

Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins; Halton & Frodsham) – T54 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m & 4x100m mixed relay

Polly Maton (Colin Baross; Team Devizes) – T47 Long Jump, 100m & 4x100m mixed relay

Stephen Miller (Ros Miller; Gateshead) – F32 Club Throw

Steve Morris (James Thie; Cardiff) – T20 800m &1500m

Taz Nicholls (Alison O’Riordan; Shaftesbury Barnet) – F64 Discus

Luke Nuttall (Vince Wilson; Charnwood) – T46 1500m

Stephen Osborne (Jenni Banks; Dartford) – T51 100m & 200m

Javaughn Parkes (Lincoln Asquith; Birchfield) – T36 100m & 200m

Ross Paterson (John Kinder; Red Star) – T38 200m & 400m

Stef Reid (Aston Moore; Charnwood) – T64 Long Jump & 200m

Ben Rowlings (Ian Mirfin; Coventry) – T34 100m, 400m & 800m

Amir Sarvestani (Self-coached) – T11 Long Jump

Zac Shaw (Cleethorpes) – T12 100m & 200m

Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller; Bournemouth) – T61 200m & T63 Long Jump

Zak Skinner (Aston Moore; Tonbridge) – T13 100m, Long Jump & 4x100m mixed relay

Ali Smith (Paul MacGregor; Guildford & Godalming) – T38 100m, 200m, 400m & Long Jump

Rafi Solaiman (Sheffield & Dearne) – RR3 100m

Laura Sugar (Joe McDonnell; Birchfield) – T44 100m & 200m

Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman / Jenni Banks; Blackpool, Wyre & Field) – T34 400m & 800m

Vanessa Wallace (Alison O’Riordan; Enfield & Haringey) – F34 Shot Put & Javelin

Eve Walsh Dann (Roger Sexton; North Down) – T38 200m

Shaun White (Christine Parsloe; Sutton & District) – T34 100m and 400m

Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine; Southwell) – T61 200m

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – T38 100m & 200m