4th July 2018


The 2nd European Athletics U18 Championships kick off on Thursday 5 July in Gyor, Hungary with a 33-strong British team set to take on the best from the continent in the age-group.

Two athletes will be in final action on day one and they are Thomas Keen (coach: Mark Vile, club: Cambridge & Coleridge) and Rory Leonard (Tony Leonard, Morpeth) in the boys 3000m. The pair are ranked one and two in the European U18 rankings so far in 2018 so will go into the race with a fillip of confidence from their form this year. Their final goes at 19:32 UK time.

There are 15 British athletes involved on day one seeking progression in to the latter stages of competition here.

Among them are World U18 leader in the high jump Dominic Ogbechie (Carol Jackson / Marius Guei, Highgate Harriers) who goes in the qualification pools around 16:40 (UK time).

Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) and Cassie-Ann Pemberton (Sharon Morris, Birchfield) will race the girl’s 100m heats on Thursday morning, hoping to advance to the semi-finals later in the evening. Meanwhile, Natasha Harrison (Pete Torrance, Stockport) and Hannah Foster (Craig Andrew, Shaftesbury Barnet) kick off the action in the 400m heats at 10:10am UK time.

In the field, Max Law (Sam Harrison, Havering) will go in javelin qualification, Lewis Byng (Paul Bearman / Sandy Green, Stratford-upon-Avon) and George Hyde (Dave McKay, West Cheshire) will target the final in the shot put while Jade Spencer-Smith (Ellie Spain, Harrow) takes on pole vault qualification.

There is further British interest in the endurance events with Elise Thorner (Abi Tickner, Wells City Harriers) last up in the 2000m steeplechase heats, Keely Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin, Leigh Harriers) in the girl’s 800m heats while Jacques Maurice (Andrew Henderson, Harrogate Harriers) and Kane Elliott (William Sharp, Falkirk) go in the 1500m heats.

Timetable and start lists for day one can be found here

Please find the European Athletics U18 Championships Media Guide here.

The championships will be broadcast on Eurosport across the four days of action. Please check schedules for timings.