3rd December 2021


Lauren Heyes (coach: Paul Roden, club: Hallamshire) has been called up to the senior women’s team for the European Cross Country Championships, replacing Charlotte Arter who has withdrawn.

Heyes, who was the sixth senior woman across the line at the Trials event at the British Athletics Cross Challenge in Liverpool, last competed for Great Britain and Northern Ireland over the cross country at the 2015 edition of the event. On that occasion, Heyes (née Howarth) was part of a gold-medal winning senior women’s squad.

Following a fitness test, Arter and her coach decided to withdraw from the team heading to Ireland in a weeks’ time.

The European Cross Country Championships will be broadcast on the BBC Red Button and BBC iPlayer between 10:00-15:00 on Sunday 12 December. A highlights programme will be available between 18:00-19:00 on the BBC Red Button. 

The British team for the European Cross Country Championships in Fingal-Dublin, Ireland on Sunday 12 December:

Senior women

Kate Avery (Shildon)

Abbie Donnelly (Rob Lewis, Lincoln Wellington)

Jess Gibbon (Reading)

Lauren Heyes (Paul Roden, Hallamshire)

Jess Judd (Mick Judd, Blackburn Harriers)

Jenny Nesbitt (Chris Jones, Cardiff)


Senior men

William Battershill (Luke Gunn, Erme Valley)

Andrew Butchart (Central)

Jamie Crowe (Derek Easton, Central)

Stuart McCallum (Bud Baldaro, Winchester)

Jack Rowe (Tim Eglen, Aldershot Farnham and District)

Jake Smith (James Thie, Cardiff)


Senior Mixed Relay

Alex Bell (Andrew Henderson, Pudsey and Bramley)

Luke Duffy (Richard Massey, Mansfield)

Hannah Nuttall (John Nuttall, Charnwood)

Benjamin West (Kyle Bennett, Milton Keynes Distance Project)


U23 Women

Eleanor Bolton (Ribble Valley)

Jemima Elgood (Andrew Henderson, Ilkley)

Izzy Fry (Steve Vernon, Newbury)

Cari Hughes (Andrew Walling, Cardiff)

Amelia Quirk (Mick Woods, Bracknell)

Eloise Walker (Andy Young, Edinburgh)


U23 Men

Sam Charlton (Helen Clitheroe, Wallsend)

Charles Hicks (Shaftesbury Barnet)

Rory Leonard (Morpeth)

Zakariya Mahamed (Idris Hamud, Southampton)

Tom Mortimer (Chris McGeorge, Stroud & District)

Matthew Stonier (Peter Mullervy, Invicta East Kent)


U20 Women

Phoebe Anderson (Wayne Vinton, Herne Hill)

Alice Garner (Mick Woods, Aldershot, Farnham and District)

Ella Greenway (Joanna Louise Evans, Cleethorpes)

Megan Keith (Ross Cairns, Inverness)

Ellen Weir (Anne Hegvold, Hercules Wimbledon)

Beatrice Wood (Dave Amey, City of Salisbury AC)


U20 Men

Hamish Armitt (Crawford Whyte, Giffnock North)

Will Barnicoat (Aldershot Farnham and District)

Lewis Hannigan (Robert Hawkins, Kilbarchan)

Henry McLuckie (Geoff Watkin, Shaftesbury Barnet)

Osian Perrin (Andrew Walling, Menai)

Liam Rawlings (Colin Lancaster, Shrewsbury)