20th November 2018


A host of 2018 World Junior, European Under-18 and World Para Athletics European Championship medallists have been named on the British Athletics Futures Programmes for 2018-2019.

A total of 26 athletes have been selected for the Olympic Futures Programme, with 24 chosen for the Paralympic Futures Programme.

The Olympic programme, supported by Nike, and the Paralympic programme, supported by Sport England and Nike, aims to highlight athletes that have the potential to win medals at future Olympic & Paralympic Games, World and European Championships, and those that have the potential to progress onto the World Class Programme (WCP) in the next cycle.

World Junior (U20) Championship 200m and hammer gold medallists respectively, Jona Efoloko (coach: Michael Afilaka; club: Sale Harriers Manchester) and Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson; Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow), head the Olympic Programme, the latter breaking his own British U20 record in Tampere.

Fellow British U20 record holder in the women’s pole vault, Molly Caudery (Stuart Caudery; Cornwall), is selected, along with World U20 4x400m bronze medallist Alastair Chalmers (James Hillier; Guernsey) and World Indoor 4x400m bronze medallist Hannah Williams (Glyn Hawkes; Herts Phoenix).

Age-15 world record holders and European U18 Championship gold medallists in the 800m and high jump respectively, Max Burgin (Ian Burgin; Halifax) and Dominic Ogbechie (Marius Guei/Carol Jackson; Highgate Harriers) are included, along with fellow European U18 800m and 110m hurdles gold medallists, Keely Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin; Leigh) and Sam Bennett (Steven Surety; Basildon).

Five medallists from this summer’s World Para Athletics European Championship are selected for the Paralympic Futures Programme, with double gold medallist in T38 100m and 200m, Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) heading the list.

T33 100m gold medallist Harri Jenkins (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy), T46 1500m silver medallist Luke Nuttall (Alison Wyeth/Vince Wilson; Charnwood) and T38 400m silver medallists Ali Smith (Paul MacGregor; Guildford & Godalming) and Ross Paterson (John Kinder; Red Star) are also included.

The programme runs from December 1, 2018 to November 30, 2019 and has been redeveloped from previous years, with the focus on supporting aspects of the athletes/coaches 2018-19 Individual Athlete Plan (IAP) and, through a series of camps and experiences, provide athletes with the opportunities to develop the skills and abilities required for senior international success.

Athletes and Coaches invited onto the programme will be assigned a British Athletics Point of contact, whose role is to understand where the programme can support and add value, and identify conditions necessary to make progress throughout the year.

Over 40 athletes have progressed onto WCP funding since the programme was launched in 2009, most recently Jemma Reekie (Andy Young; Kilbarchan) and Naomi Ogbeta (Tom Cullen; Trafford), who are now receiving support as ‘Podium Potential’ athletes.


Athletes Supported by the British Athletics Olympic Futures Programme 2019

Sprints & Hurdles

Alicia Barrett (Toni Minichiello; Chesterfield) – 100m Hurdles

Sam Bennett (Steven Surety; Basildon) – 110m Hurdles

Maya Bruney (John Blackie; Blackheath & Bromley) – 200m

Alastair Chalmers (James Hillier; Guernsey) – 400m Hurdles

Charlie Dobson (Benke Blomkvist; Colchester Harriers) – 200m

Jona Efoloko (Michael Afilaka; Sale Harriers Manchester) – 200m

Hannah Williams (Glyn Hawkes; Herts Phoenix) – 400m



Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn; Enfield & Haringey) – 800m

Alex Botterill (Andrew Henderson; City of York) – 800m

Max Burgin (Ian Burgin; Halifax) – 800m

Jake Heyward (James Thie; Cardiff) – 1500m

Keely Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin; Leigh) – 800m

Markhim Lonsdale (Crook & District) – 800m

Canaan Solomon (Richard Thurston; Woodford Green & Essex Ladies) – 800m

Thomas Staines (Matthew Morris; Colorado State University) – 800m



George Armstrong (Zane Duquemin; Newham & Essex Beagles) – Discus

Lewis Byng (Stuart Carlaw; Stratford-upon-Avon) – Shot Put

Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson; WSEH) – Hammer Throw

Divine Oladipo (John Hillier; Blackheath & Bromley) – Shot Put/Discus

James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen, Pembrokeshire) – Discus

Serena Vincent (Bronwin Carter; City of Portsmouth) – Shot Put


Jumps & Combined Events

Molly Caudery (Stuart Caudery; Cornwall AC) – Pole Vault

Lucy Hadaway (Matt Barton; City of York) – Long Jump

Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne/Frank Attoh; Andover) – Combined Events

Jade O’Dowda (Toni Minichiello; Oxford City) – Combined Events

Dominic Ogbechie (Marius Guei/Carol Jackson; Highgate Harriers) – High Jump


British Athletics Paralympic Pathway Athletes 2019


Amar Aichoun (Clarence Callender; Thames Valley) T38 100m

Joe Brazier (Richard Chiassaro; Harlow) T34 100m

John Bridge (Matthew Clowes; DSW Para Academy) T47 400m

James Freeman (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) T33 100m

Bulbul Hussain (Steve Peaty; Victoria Park & Tower Hamlets) T51 100m

Harri Jenkins (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy) T33 100m *

Simran Kaur (Nick Harris; Bristol & West) T46 100m

India Oates (Helen Bowles; Darlington) T35 100m

Ross Paterson (John Kinder; Red Star) T38 400m

Ali Smith (Paul MacGregor; Guildford & Godalming) T38 400m *

Kirsty Taylor (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) T44 100m

Bethany Tucker (Mark Lodge; South Glos) T37 100m

Eve Walsh-Dann (Roger Sexton; North Down) T38 100m *

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) T38 100m *



Owen Miller (Steve Doig; Fife) T20 1500m

Luke Nuttall (Alison Wyeth/Vince Wilson; Charnwood) T46 1500m

Hannah Taunton (Charlotte Fisher; Taunton) T20 1500m



Ed Clifton (Mike Wood; British Wheelchair Athletics Association) F56 Shot Put

Bethan Griffiths (Carolyn Franks; Cheltenham) F32 Club Throw

Taz Nicholls (Alison O’Riordan; Shaftesbury Barnet) – F44 Discus

Harrison Walsh (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy) F44 Discus



Jordan Andrew (Matt Grainger; Newham & Essex Beagles) T20 Long Jump

Holly Durbridge (Denis Costello; City of Norwich) T20 Long Jump

Callum Gardiner (Paul Patten; Blackheath & Bromley) T20 Long Jump


* Athletes marked with an asterisk are on both the Paralympic Futures and World Class Performance Programme. They can be fast-tracked onto the WCP, but are far less experienced in other aspects of sport. It is therefore compulsory for the athletes to go through the Futures Programme for the education and experience to ensure they are better prepared for international competition.


Away from the British Athletics Futures Programme, there are further Performance Pathway Support Programmes which are provided to developing young athletes between the ages of 16-21.

The Futures Sprint Relays is a camp-based programme focused around key age group competitions which aims to equip young talented sprinters with the necessary skills, behaviours and abilities to progress to the World Class Programme and support those who have highlighted the potential to win medals – individually and as part of a relay team – at future Olympic Games.

A number of athletes will be nominated for Talented Athlete Support Scheme (TASS) (English athletes only) or SportsAid via the ‘Backing the best’ scheme which they manage on behalf of Sport England. These lists will be announced in the coming months by the respective bodies.

Furthermore, British Athletics also offers support to a number of athletes via the Athlete Academy in Sporting Excellence (AASE) programme. The diploma gives athletes the opportunity to learn and develop necessary knowledge and skills to progress on to becoming a senior international athlete whilst gaining further qualifications and is designed to support and compliment club training.