25th June 2019


Seven European leaders headline the first round of selections for the British team that heads to the European Under-20 Championships in Sweden, including British junior record holders Max Burgin (coach: Brian Burgin; club: Halifax) and Alastair Chalmers (James Hillier; Guernsey).

Burgin, who won European U18 800m gold in 2018, smashed David Sharpe’s near 33-year British U20 record with a 1:45.36 run on Sunday and in the process, became the fastest man in Britain this year.

World Junior 4x400m bronze medallist and current European Under-20 leaders Chalmers broke Richard Davenport’s 14-year standing record with a 50.11s showing in Tampere at last year’s World Junior Championships, and shaved another 0.04s off his best in Geneva earlier this month to clock the European leading mark.

Six other European leaders earn selection, with 2018 European U18 Championship silver medallist Ethan Brown (Lloyd Cowan; Blackheath & Bromley), European Indoor 4x400m silver medallist Amber Anning (Lloyd Cowan; Brighton & Hove), 100m sprinters Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) and Jeremiah Azu (Helen James; Cardiff), 800m specialist Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn; Enfield & Haringey) and 5000m star, Grace Brock (self-coached; Cornwall) named.

European U18 Championship gold medallist over 800m Keely Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin; Leigh) earns her first British vest at U20 level, whilst 2018 World Junior 1500m finalist Erin Wallace (Andy Young; Giffnock North) makes the team following her trials success.

Hammer thrower Charlotte Williams (Michael Hitchon; Blackburn) secured her selection in style, moving to second on the all-time list junior list with a 62.84m effort as she took victory in the women’s under-20 hammer on Saturday.

2016 European U18 Championship long jump gold medallist Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne; Andover) earns selection in the women’s heptathlon and long jump, where she set a personal best of 6.40m (1.0) on Sunday, before finishing second in the 100m hurdles.

Team Leader Trevor Painter commented: “I am delighted that we are able to name such a strong team from our first round of selections for the European Under-20 Championships in Borås, next month.

“The standard of competition in Bedford at the trials was incredibly high and because of this, it means that the team named at this point is a strong reflection of the calibre of junior athletes we have to pick from.”

The next trial events will take place on Saturday, 29th June in Watford, with the men’s and women’s 3000m. The team will be announced in full on Tuesday, 9 July.

The British athletes selected for the European Under-20 Championships in Borås, Sweden on 18-21 July:


100m – Jeremiah Azu (Helen James; Cardiff)

400m – Ethan Brown (Lloyd Cowan; Blackheath & Bromley)

800m – Max Burgin (Brian Burgin; Halifax), Ben Pattison (Dave Ragan; Basingstoke & Mid Hants)

1500m – Joshua Lay (Anthony Love; Rugby & Northampton)

5000m – Rory Leonard (Morpeth)

110m Hurdles – Josh Zeller (Ken Spencer; Bracknell AC)

400m Hurdles – Alastair Chalmers (James Hillier; Guernsey), Seamus Derbyshire (Nick Dakin; City of Stoke)

3000m Steeplechase – Kristian Imroth (Shaftesbury Barnet)

Long Jump – Stephen MacKenzie (Linda Nicholson; Pitreavie)

Shot – Lewis Byng (Stuart Carlaw; Stratford-upon-Avon)

Discus – James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen; Pembrokeshire)

Hammer – Ben Hawkes (Eric Davison; Worthing)

Decathlon – Jack Turner (Kevin Skinner; Exeter)



100m – Immanuela Aliu (John Blackie; Blackheath & Bromley), Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood)

200m – Georgina Adam (Jonas Dodoo; Loughborough Students)

400m – Amber Anning (Lloyd Cowan; Brighton & Hove)

800m – Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn; Enfield & Haringey), Keely Hodgkinson (Margaret Galvin; Leigh)

1500m – Erin Wallace (Andy Young; Giffnock North)

5000m – Grace Brock (self; Cornwall), Izzy Fry (Mick Woods; Newbury)

400m Hurdles – Marcey Winter (Neil Dodson; Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow)

3000m Steeplechase – Holly Page (Jason Marchant; Dartford)

Long Jump – Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne; Andover)

Shot Put – Sarah Omoregie (Gareth Lease; Cardiff)

Hammer – Charlotte Williams (Michael Hitchon; Blackburn)

Heptathlon – Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne; Andover)