2nd July 2019


Ahead of this weekend’s European 10,000m Cup at the Night of 10,000m PBs in Highgate, British Athletics can confirm there have been three changes to the Great Britain & Northern Ireland squad.

Dewi Griffiths and Marc Scott have withdrawn, and the duo have been replaced by Jack Gray (club: Cambridge & Coleridge; coach: Mark Vile) and Andrew Heyes (Hallamshire; Steve Vernon).

Gray clocked a personal best over the distance last month at the England AA 10,000m Championships in Walthamstow, the time recorded at 29:12.36. This is Gray’s first international call-up to a British team.

Heyes has a 10km career best of 28:56 set this year in Brighton and will compete for the Britain for the first time since 2018 when he ran at the Great Edinburgh XCountry.

In the women’s race, Jess Piasecki has withdrawn as a precaution, and has been replaced by Mhairi MacLennan (Edinburgh Uni Hare & Hounds; Helen Clitheroe).

MacLennan was the second counter for Britain’s senior women’s team who finished fourth at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships in March.

The British team selected for the European 10,000m Cup 2019:


Ben Connor (Derby; Steve Vernon)

Nick Goolab (Belgrave; Craig Winrow)

Jack Gray (Cambridge & Coleridge; Mark Vile)

Andrew Heyes (Hallamshire; Steve Vernon).

Adam Hickey (Southend; Eamonn Martin)

Matt Leach (Bedford & County; Philip O’Dell)



Charlotte Arter (Cardiff; Chris Jones)

Sarah Inglis (Lothian; Mark Bomba)

Eilish McColgan (Dundee Hawkhill; Liz Nuttall)

Mhairi MacLennan (Edinburgh Uni Hare & Hounds; Helen Clitheroe)

Verity Ockenden (Swansea; Tony Houchin)

Alice Wright (Worcester; Ben Rosario)