3rd July 2023


Dan Greaves (coach: Zane Duquemin, club: Charnwood) and Sammi Kinghorn (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) will co-captain the Great Britain and Northern Ireland team at the World Para Athletics Championships in Paris, France which take place between 8-17 July.

Greaves competed at his first World Para Athletics Championships in 2002, also in France. 21 years later and after winning medals at six consecutive Paralympic Games, the 40-year-old will bring all his experience to the Great Britain and Northern Ireland team at the 2023 edition.

Greaves has won three world discus titles in 2002, 2006 and 2011. He will be targeting his first world championship podium in 10 years at the Stadium Charlety when he competes on the 15 July.


As for Kinghorn, the 27-year-old Scottish athlete will be competing at her fourth consecutive World Para Athletics Championships. In France, she will contest the T53 100m, 400m and 800m, as well as being a member of the 4x100m Universal Relay team.

The two-time world champion won her first Paralympic medals in Tokyo; a silver and bronze in the 400m and 100m respectively.

On his appointment as co-captain for a third time during his career, Greaves said, “I am extremely proud to be captain. It will make this Championships a whole lot sweeter particularly after missing the 2019 worlds due to injury; I am determined to make up for it. Pulling on the GB vest is always a massive honour and to lead this young and ambitious team is very exciting. Hopefully I can bring my vast experience of 22 years in the sport to the role and lend advice and support where it is needed.

“Each year the standards grow and grow in the sport, so it gets harder to make a team each year. So, we are in a great position where we can select such a strong group of athletes to take to a major Championships. The strength of our team is a huge positive and shows what we are trying to do in para sport in Great Britain.”

Kinghorn said, “I still remember the first time I received my GB kit and thinking this is crazy that I am part of a British team. So, to be involved in teams for so long, and now to be asked to be captain, is a really nice moment. I just hope I can do everyone proud. I hope people will feel comfortable coming to me for advice at the Championships. I get super nervous before races, so the more distraction, the better for me.

“One piece of advice I will be passing on to the team is that having fun is one of the most important things to remember. We spend 90% of our time training and such a small percentage of our time as a team competing for our country. There are so many people who would love to do it, so enjoy that and be proud of yourself in this moment. Time goes so fast a Championships, so my advice would be to slow things down, enjoy it and appreciate that you are part of the greatest team.”

Tom Paulson, Team Leader, added, “Dan and Sammi bring great characteristics and qualities to the role of team captain. Both have so much valuable experience to pass on to their teammates, especially those who are competing at a World Championships for the first time. They are both excellent role models who I expect to thrive as team captains.”

There have been two updates to the Great Britain and Northern Ireland team heading to Paris. David Devine has withdrawn from the men’s T13 5000m after sustaining an Achilles injury last month. Kayleigh Haggo has also withdrawn from the women’s T72 100m (FrameRunning).

The Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the World Para Athletics Championships, Paris, France [8-17 July]:


Kare Adenegan (Job King, Coventry) – T34 100m and 800m

Fabienne André (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T34 100m and 800m

Hollie Arnold (David Turner, Blackheath and Bromley) – F46 Javelin

Olivia Breen (Aston Moore, City of Portsmouth) – T38 Long Jump and 100m

Lydia Church (Mark Edwards, Peterborough & Nene Valley) – F12 Shot Put

Hannah Cockroft (Paul Moseley, Leeds) – T34 100m, 800m & 4x100m Universal Relay

Sabrina Fortune (Ryan Spencer-Jones / Ian Robinson, Deeside) – F20 Shot Put

Sophie Hahn (Leon Baptiste, Charnwood) – T38 100m, 200m & 4x100m Universal Relay

Sammi Kinghorn (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) – T53 100m, 400m, 800m & 4x100m Universal Relay

Maria Lyle (Team East Lothian) – T35 100m & 200m

Anna Nicholson (Richard Kaufman, Gateshead) – F35 Shot Put

Funmi Oduwaiye (Josh Clark, Cardiff & The Vale Schs) – F64 Shot Put and Discus

Eden Rainbow-Cooper (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T54 800m, 1500m & 5000m

Ali Smith (Benke Blomkvist, Guildford & Godalming) – T38 100m, 400m & 4x100m Universal Relay

Hannah Taunton (Charlotte Fisher, Taunton) – T20 1500m

Mel Woods (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) – T54 400m, 800m & 1500m



Columba Blango (Chris Zah, Shaftesbury Barnet) – T20 400m

Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Bethan Partridge, Newham and Essex Beagles) – T64 High Jump

Steven Bryce (Steven Doig, Victoria Park City of Glasgow) – T20 1500m

Karim Chan (Lukasz Zawila, Charnwood) – T38 Long Jump

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks, Harlow) – T54 400m

Barney Corrall (Aston Moore, Charnwood) – T37 Long Jump

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones, Cardiff) – F63 Shot Put

Gavin Drysdale (David Phee, Red Star) – T72 100m

Dan Greaves (Zane Duquemin, Charnwood) – F64 Discus

Michael Jenkins (Ryan Spencer-Jones, Pembrokeshire) – F38 Shot Put

Kyle Keyworth (Kes Salmon, Manchester Harriers) – T35 100m & 200m

Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins, Kirkby AC) – T54 400m, 800m & 1500m

Owen Miller (Steven Doig, Fife) – T20 1500m

Luke Nuttall (Sonia and Chris McGeorge, Charnwood) – T46 1500m

Emmanuel Oyinbo-Coker (Nat Senior, Newham & Essex Beagles) – T47 100m & 4x100m Universal Relay

Jonnie Peacock (Dan Pfaff / Benke Blomkvist, Charnwood) – T64 100m & 4x100m Universal Relay

Dan Pembroke (David Turner, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) – F13 Javelin

Marcus Perrineau-Daley (Jenny Archer, Weir Archer Academy) – T52 100m

Ben Sandilands (Steven Doig, Fife) – T20 1500m

Kevin Santos (Mike Utting, City of Norwich) – T47 100m

Zac Shaw (Leon Baptiste, Cleethorpes) – T12 100m & 4x100m Universal Relay

Daniel Sidbury (Chris Parsloe, Sutton & District) – T54 400m, 800m, 1500m & 5000m

Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller, Bournemouth) – T63 Long Jump

Zak Skinner (Aston Moore, Loughborough Students) – T13 Long Jump

Rafi Solaiman (Phil Fleetwood, Charnwood) – T72 100m

Harrison Walsh (Nathan Stephens, Swansea) – F64 Discus

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) – T38 100m


Team Staff List

Team Leader – Tom Paulson

Team Coaches – Jamie Bowie [Sprints], Phil Fleetwood [Frame Running], Katie Jones [Sprints], Roger Keller [Jumps], Job King [WCR], Dean Miller [Endurance], Aston Moore [Jumps], Coral Nourrice [Sprints], Chris Parsloe [WCR], Ryan Spencer-Jones [Throws], David Turner [Throws], Pete Wyman [WCR]

Team Support Staff [Holding Camp and Competition] – Kirsty Allen, Clare Bohr, Lachlan Bromley, Anna Dalton, Jess Flint, Donna Halfteck, Leigh Halfteck, Laura Heathcote, Sam Heathcote, James Hedger, Matt Kendrick, Sara Lee, Siva Mani-Babu, Jill Neale, Gemma Richards, Jelani Robertson, Pamela Robson and Akash Shah