15th May 2018


British junior record holder in the women’s pole vault Molly Caudery (coach: Stuart Caudery, club: Cornwall AC) heads a 54-strong British junior team that will represent their country at the Loughborough International (LIA) on Sunday 20 May.

Fresh from setting a personal best of 4.40m in the women’s pole vault and a fifth place finish at the Commonwealth Games last month, Caudery returns to Loughborough, looking to improve on her third place finish from last year.

Joining her in the field is European Under 18 and Commonwealth Youth Games long jump champion Holly Mills (James Coney, Andover), who comes to the Paula Radcliffe Athletics Stadium having jumped a best of 6.23m this season, compared to the IAAF World Junior Championships qualifying standard of 6.25m.

She is one of 19 athletes currently sitting atop the Power of 10 rankings that will represent Great Britain & Northern Ireland in Loughborough.

On the track, European Under 18 800m champion Isabelle Boffey (Douglas Stone, Enfield & Haringey) will look to lower her season’s best outdoors of 2:07.80 as she continues her pursuit of the 2:05.00 qualifying standard for the World Juniors in July.

Alastair Chalmers (Dale Garland, Guernsey AC) who set a personal best 51.10 in the 400m hurdles at the Commonwealth Games last month, also returns to track action in his first U20 vest.

Francesca Brint (Paul Roden, Sale Harriers Manchester), will aim to continue her strong start to the season in the 1500m, having lowered her PB by nearly three seconds in her first race of the season on Saturday.

Elsewhere, Bayley Campbell (Paul Dickenson, Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow) competes at LIA for the first time, having already achieved the qualifying standard for the World Juniors of 71.50m, following a new personal best of 73.75 set at Loughborough last month. Campbell was also selected to represent Britain at the Halle throws International at the end of the month.

British team leader, Trevor Painter, said: “The Loughborough International is a fantastic early season opportunity for those athletes who are looking to be part of the British team for the World Junior Championships to test themselves in a high-quality competition environment.

“As a coach, I have taken athletes through the age-group ranks and on to successful senior careers therefore I know first-hand how important this fixture is within the development of junior athletes. I am sure that each member of the team will wear the British vest with pride and perform to their best in Loughborough.”

The British Athletics team selected for Loughborough International on Sunday, 20 May:


100m: Dom Ashwell (Marvin Rowe, Shaftesbury Barnet)

200m: Charlie Dobson (Stephen Garnham, Colchester Harriers)

400m: Alex Haydock-Wilson (Earl Herbert, Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow)

800m: Alex Botterill (Andrew Henderson, City of York)

1500m: Jeremy Dempsey (George Harrison, Shaftesbury Barnet)

3000m: James Puxty (Mark Hookway, Tonbridge)

3000m Steeplechase: Alfred Yabsley (James Bennett, MK Distance Project)

400 Hurdles: Alastair Chalmers (Dale Garland, Guernsey)

High Jump: Thomas Hewes (John Herbert, Chelmsford)

Pole Vault: Emmanuel Thomas (Allan Williams, Croydon)

Long Jump: Alessandro Schenini (David Watson, Giffnock North)

Triple Jump: Wesley Matsuka-Williams (Dennis Costello, City of Norwich)

Shot Put: Nicholas Young (Neil Donbavand, Sale Harriers Manchester)

Hammer: Bayley Campbell (Paul Dickenson, Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow)

Discus: James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen, Pembrokeshire)

Javelin: Scott Staples (Robert Cooper, Crawley)

4x100m relay: Dom Ashwell (Shaftesbury Barnet), Eden Davis (Catherine Walker, Herts Phoenix), Charlie Dobson (Stephen Garnham, Colchester Harriers), Jona Efoloko (John Smith, Sale Harriers), Chad Miller (Ryan Freckleton, Hercules Wimbledon), Brandon Mingeli (Benjamin Davies, Cambridge Harriers), Rio Mitcham (Leon Baptiste, Birchfield Harriers), Michael Olsen (Bill Walker, Edinburgh AC), Samir Williams (Paul Weston, Croydon).

4x400m relay: Joseph Brier (Matt Elias, Swansea), Declan Gall (John Lees, Dundee Hawkhill), Alex Haydock-Wilson (Earl Herbert, Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow), Charles Hilliard (Sharon Morris, Birchfield Harriers), Alex Knibbs (Julie Feeney, Amber Valley & Erewash), Aidan Leeson (James Wright, Rugby & Northampton).



100m: Kristal Awuah (Matthew Thomas, Herne Hill)

200m: Amber Anning (Lloyd Cowan, Brighton & Hove)

400m: Emma Alderson (Stephen Carroll, Liverpool Harriers)

800m: Isabelle Boffey (Douglas Stone, Enfield & Haringey)

1500m: Francesca Brint (Paul Roden, Sale Harriers)

3000m: Amelia Quirk (Mick Woods, Bracknell AC)

3000m Steeplechase: Holly Page (Jason Marchant, Dartford)

100m Hurdles: Isabella Hilditch (John Blackie, Blackheath & Bromley)

400m Hurdles: Lauren Williams (Wynford Leyshon, Swansea)

High Jump: Abby Ward (Ian Hill, Wakefield)

Pole Vault: Molly Caudery (Stuart Caudery, Cornwall AC)

Long Jump: Holly Mills (James Coney, Andover)

Triple Jump: Eloise Harvey (Trevor Bent, Dartford Harriers)

Shot Put: Sarah Omoregie (Gareth Lease, Cardiff)

Hammer Throw: Katie Head (Paul Head, Newham & Essex Beagles)

Discus: Luisa Chantler Edmond (Peter O’Keefe, Radley)

Javelin: Bethan Rees (Mark Pinner, Cannock & Stafford)

4x100m relay: Georgina Adam (Denise Timms, Lincoln Wellington), Immanuela Aliu (John Blackie, Lincoln Wellington), Amber Anning (Lloyd Cowan, Brighton & Hove), Kristal Awuah (Matthew Thomas, Herne Hill), Ebony Carr (Mike Leonard, Marshall Milton Keynes), Vera Chinedu (Ryan Freckleton, Cambridge Harriers), Mair Edwards (John Davis, Basingstoke & Mid Hants), Hannah Kelly (Les Hall, Bolton), Alisha Rees (Leon Baptiste, Edinburgh AC).

4x400m relay: Esther Adikpe (Brian Darby, Coventry), Emma Alderson (Stephen Carroll, Liverpool Harriers), Isabelle Boffey (Douglas Stone, Enfield & Haringey), Megan Walsh (Roy Dickens, Blackheath & Bromley), Lauren Williams (Wynford Leyshon, Swansea).