5th August 2021


A British U18 and U20 team have been selected to compete at the Manchester International on Wednesday 18 August.

200m European U20 champion, Derek Kinlock (coach: Paul Weston) leads the team at the Manchester Regional Arena and will compete in the 200m and 4x100m relay squad. The Croydon athlete burst onto the scene in Tallinn last month as he ran three PBs in three races to seal a surprise gold medal.

He’ll be joined by European U20 relay gold medallists, Toby Makoyawo (Peter Griffiths, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow), Ethan Wiltshire (Jake Awe, Marshall Milton Keynes) and Jeriel Quainoo (Ryan Freckleton, Blackheath and Bromley) in the sprint relay. Henry Nwoke (Mike Sweeney, Liverpool) completes the relay team. Wiltshire will also compete in the individual men’s 100m; he was fourth in the event in Tallinn.

Success Eduan (Anita Richardson, Sale Harriers Manchester), who sealed U20 bronze in the 200m and relay gold at the European U20 Championships, will compete for the British U20 team in the two events.

Fellow medallist from the Europeans, Sam Brereton (Fuzz Caan, Birchfield), will go in the men’s high jump following his bronze medal display last month.

Joy Eze (Gateshead) leads the British U18 squad as she goes in the individual 100m, and she will also compete in the U20 4x100m relay squad. She set a European U18 leading time on her way to bronze at the Kadriorg Stadium in July, and she was also a key part of the title-winning 4x100m line-up.

The international match will see Great Britain and Northern Ireland U18s and U20s compete against squads from England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland as well as the National Athletics League.

Team Leader, Sharon Morris, said, “We are delighted that we have been able to give young athletes a further key opportunity to achieve a GB vest at the Manchester International and for them to gain great experience in pursuit of international age group competition in 2022. We have a very strong U18 and U20 team and I look forward to seeing them perform. I’d like to acknowledge the hard work that coaches have put in supporting these athletes in achieving their goals.”

The British U18 and U20 for the Manchester International on Wednesday 18 August:

U18 Women

100m: Joy Eze (Gateshead)

200m: Sophie Walton (Trevor Williams, Horwich)

800m: Katie Johnson (Edinburgh)

1500m: Abigail Ives (Basildon)

5000m: Kaitlyn Sheppard (Andrew Beadle, Cheltenham)

100m Hurdles: Megan Corker (David Gough, Liverpool Harriers)

400m Hurdles: Emily Newnham (Shaftesbury Barnet)

High Jump: Halle Ferguson (Andrew Wood, Trafford)

Pole Vault: Gemma Tutton (Richard Pilling, Lewes)

Long Jump: Ella Rush (Joe McColgan, Amber Valley and Erewash)

Triple Jump: Melissa Booth (Keith Hunter, Sale Harriers Manchester)

Shot Put: Omolola Kuponiyi (Chelmsford)

Discus: Zara Obamakinwa (Mark Chapman, Blackheath and Bromley)

Javelin: Sophie Hamilton (Ken Holmes, Mendip)

Hammer: Lily Murray (Swale Combined)

U18 Men

100m: Michael Onilogbo (Carl Graham, Basildon)

200m: Michael Onilogbo

400m: Reuben Henry-Daire (Paul Herrington, Reading)

800m: Jake Minshull (Coventry)

1500m: David Race (John Stephenson, Gateshead)

5000m: Joe O’Brien (City of York)

110m Hurdles: Ruben Hedman (Brian Hopkins, Shaftesbury Barnet)

400m Hurdles: Onyekachukwu Okoh (Jade Harding, Chelmsford)

High Jump: Luke Ball (Jeremy Dale, Yate)

Pole Vault: Barnaby Corry (John Wakeman, Blackheath and Bromley)

Long Jump: Oreofeoluwa Adepegba (Vespa Ellis, Basildon)

Triple Jump: Ignatius Abebrese (John Shepherd, Herne Hill)

Shot Put: Dafydd Pawlett (Pembrokeshire)

Discus: Rhys Allen (David Callaway, Newham and Essex Beagles)

Javelin: Callum Taylor (Bronwin Carter, City of Portsmouth)

Hammer: Owen Merrett (Matt Spicer, Yate)


U20 Women:

100m: Aleeya Sibbons (Coral Nourrice, Newham and Essex Beagles)

200m: Success Eduan (Anita Richardson, Sale Harriers Manchester)

400m: Mary John (Alan James, Woodford Green Essex Ladies)

800m: Eleanor Colbourn (Joanne Day, Harrogate)

1500m: Jessica Spilsbury (Richard Goddard, Trafford)

5000m: Alice Garner (Mick Woods, Aldershot Farnham and District)

100m Hurdles: Lily Parris (Julie Benterman, Chelmsford)

400m Hurdles: Lucy Chalmers (Alan Richardson, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow)

5000m Race Walk: Hannah Hopper (Noel Carmody, Cambridge Harriers)

4x100m Relay: Success Eduan (Anita Richardson, Sale Harriers Manchester), Joy Eze (Michael Donnelly, Gateshead), Trinity Powell (Kes Salmon, Manchester Harriers), Aleeya Sibbons (Coral Nourrice, Newham and Essex Beagles) and Sophie Walton (Trevor Williams, Horwich)

High Jump: Zara Tyas (Joe Frost, Stockport T&F)

Pole Vault: Sophie Ashurst (Andy Ashurst, Sale Harriers Manchester)

Long Jump: Molly Palmer (Lukasz Zawila, Charnwood)

Triple Jump: Holly Aitchison (Joe Frost, Stockport T&F)

Shot Put: Nana Gyedu (John Hillier, Blackheath and Bromley)

Discus: Taia Tunstall (Stuart Carlaw, Harrow)

Javelin: Harriette Mortlock (Basildon)

Hammer: Charlotte Payne (Paul Dickenson, Reading)

100m Ambulant: Bebe Jackson (Michelle Dawson, Harlow) [T44]


U20 Men

100m: Ethan Wiltshire (Jake Awe, Marshall Milton Keynes)

200m: Derek Kinlock (Paul Weston, Croydon)

400m: Charlie Carvell (Stuart Hamilton, Telford)

800m: Daniel Howells (Richard Ashe, Aldershot Farnham and District)

1500m: Ethan Hussey (Andrew Henderson, Leeds City)

5000m: Osian Perrin (Andrew Walling, Menai)

3000m Steeplechase: Alex Alston (Simon Goodwin, Bedford and County)

110m Hurdles: Harry Barton (Alan Richardson, Wells City)

400m Hurdles: Adam Booth (Graeme Gourlay, Poole AC)

5000m Race Walk: George Wilkinson (Ron Wallwork, Enfield and Haringey)

4x100m Relay: Derek Kinlock (Paul Weston, Croydon), Toby Makoyawo (Peter Griffiths, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow), Henry Nwoke (Mike Sweeney, Liverpool), Jeriel Quainoo (Ryan Freckleton, Blackheath and Bromley) and Ethan Wiltshire (Jake Awe, Marshall Milton Keynes)

4x400m Relay: Adam Booth (Graeme Gourlay, Poole AC), Charlie Carvell (Stuart Hamilton, Telford), Alex Cooper (Grant Barker, Birchfield), Reuben Henry-Daire (Paul Herrington, Reading AC) and Samuel Reardon (Nigel Stickings, Blackheath and Bromley)

High Jump: Sam Brereton (Fuzz Caan, Birchfield)

Pole Vault: Glen Quayle (Henrietta Paxton, Shaftesbury Barnet)

Long Jump: Harry Crosby (Andrew Fisher, Winchester)

Triple Jump: Daniel Falode (Guy Spencer, Cambridge)

Shot Put: Chris Dyrmishi (Stuart Carlaw, Northampton)

Discus: James Wordsworth (Neil Ellerby, North Shields Poly)

Javelin: Thomas Holmes (Mark Bradford, Andover)

Hammer: Kenneth Ikeji (Paul Head, Basildon)  

100m Ambulant: Kevin Santos (City of Norwich) [T47]