12th July 2017

British team fine-tune preparations for European U23 Championships

The 50-strong British Athletics U23 team have fine-tuned their preparations ahead of the European U23 Championships beginning tomorrow (13 July) in Bdygoszcz, Poland.

No fewer than six gold medallists from the European Juniors two years ago are involved this week – namely Alex George (Paul de-Camps) in 5000m, Cheriece Hylton in the(Ryan Freckleton) 4x400m, Ojie Edoburun (Jonas Dodoo) in the 100m, Imani Lansiquot (Dodoo) in both the 100m and 4x100m and Lina and Laviai Nielsen (Frank Adams) in the 4x400m.

Following a whirlwind week in which he was named Men’s team captain for the U23 championships alongside securing a 4x400m relay spot for August’s IAAF World Championships, one-lap specialist Cameron Chalmers will look to continue his fine run of form this year.

The Channel Islander was thrilled to accept the captaincy with 400m Hurdler, Jessica Turner from Derbyshire, also jointly handed the honour.

Elsewhere, no fewer than four gold medallists from the European Juniors two years ago are involved this week – namely Alex George (Paul de-Camps) in 5000m, Cheriece Hylton in the(Ryan Freckleton) 4x400m, Ojie Edoburun (Jonas Dodoo) in the 100m, and Imani Lansiquot (Dodoo) in both the 100m and 4 x 100m.

Two medallists from 2015’s European U23 Championships in Tallinn, Estonia, also return looking to repeat their 2015 podium visits. Neil Gourley (Ben Thomas) won bronze back then and is in the 1500m alongside James West (George Gandy/Mark Hookway) and Robbie Fitzgibbon (Jon Bigg), while Chris Kandu (Fuzz Caan) took bronze also and recently claimed an England Athletics U23 championship best with 2.25m.

The combined events will kick-start the championships on Thursday morning with Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton) first in action, while British indoor Heptathlon record holder Tim Duckworth (Toby Stevenson) competes in the decathlon.

Fresh from senior team experience at the European Indoors and European Team Championships, Laviai Nielsen (Frank Adams) will compete over 400m, while Lucy Byran (Alan Richardson) earns her first British vest for a championships since 2014 following impressive form this season.

Team Leader David Parker has urged the athletes involved to try to take their opportunity, and feels there is a clear link from this age-group to the senior selection for the London 2017 World Champs, saying:

“We have a strong team here with a number of medal contenders and we’re really looking forward to the competition starting and representing British Athletics.

“When I spoke to the athletes the other night we took the chance to congratulate two of them, Cameron Chalmers and Laviai Nielsen, on their selections for 4x400m squads for the IAAF World Championships in London.

“I also mentioned that there were four others who had been originally picked for the Euro U23s but then duly stepped up, performed and were selected for London as their main goal for this summer. I think that shows the pathway there is through European Age Group Champs events like Bydgoszcz this week and that’s something each and every one of the athletes in Poland can be thinking about ahead of competing.

Live coverage of the European U23 Championships will be available via the European Athletics website.

The full British Athletics team for the European U23 Championships:

100m: Ojie Edoburun (Ryan Freckleton), Rueben Arthur (Gladys Bird), Joseph Dewar (Jonas Dodoo)
400m: Cameron Chalmers (James Hillier)
800m: Daniel Rowden (Richard Thurston/John Stow)
1500m: Neil Gourley (Ben Thomas), James West (George Gandy/Mark Hookway), Robbie Fitzgibbon (Jon Bigg)
5000m: Alex George (Paul de Camps)
10000m: Ellis Cross (Mick Woods)
3000m Steeplechase: Daniel Jarvis (Mick Woods), Jamaine Coleman (Andy Bibby)
110 Hurdles: Khai Riley-La Borde (Ray Gibbins/Richard Turner), James Weaver (Laura Turner Alleyne)
400m Hurdles: Jacob Paul (Marina Armstrong), Jack Lawrie (Roy Buchanan)
4x100m: Ojie Edoburun, Rueben Arthur, Joseph Dewar, Kyle de Escofet (Andy Paul), Theo Etienne (Ryan Freckleton), Chris Stone (Connell McQuisten)
4x400m: Cameron Chalmers, Robert Shipley, Thomas Somers (Benke Blomkvist), Sam Hazel (Jane Dixon), Ben Snaith (Mick Graham), Lee Thompson (John Henson)
High Jump: Chris Kandu (Fuzz Caan)
Pole Vault: Charlie Myers (Chris Boundy)
Long Jump: Jacob Fincham-Dukes (Zivile Pukstiene)
Hammer: Taylor Campbell (John Pearson)
Combined Events: Tim Duckworth (Toby Stevenson)

100m: Imani Lansiquot (Jonas Dodoo)
200m: Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice), Ama Pipi (Ronney Harrison)
400m: Laviai Nielsen (Frank Adams)
800m: Hannah Segrave (Chris Layne)
1500m: Amy Griffiths (Rob Denmark)
10000m: Jenny Nesbitt (David Walker), Phoebe Law (Mick Woods), Phillippa Bowden (Mick Woods)
3000m S/C: Aimee Pratt (Vicente Modahl)
100m Hurdles: Yasmin Miller (Robert smith)
400m Hurdles: Jess Turner (Nick Dakin)
4 x 100m Relay: Clieo Stephenson (Laura Turner-Alleyne), Imani Lansiquot, Yasmin Miller, Finette Agyapong, Diani Walker (Lloyd Cowan).
4 x 400m Relay: Nikita Campbell-Smith (Toni Minichiello), Cheriece Hylton (Ryan Frekcleton), Lina Nielsen (Frank Adams), Ama Pipi, Jess Turner, Kelsey Stewart (Ken Hogg). Laviai Nielsen
Pole Vault: Lucy Bryan (Alan Richardson)
Discus: Amy Holder (Neville Thomson)
Combined Events: Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton)