6th December 2017

British athletes shine at SJA British Sports Awards

Seven British athletes were named winners as the SJA British Sports Awards took place in London.

Hannah Cockroft (coached by Jenni Banks), Reece Prescod (Jonas Dodoo), Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell) and the world champion men’s 4x100m relay team of CJ Ujah (Stuart McMillan), Adam Gemili (Rana Reider), Danny Talbot (Benke Blomkvist) and Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake (Dennis Shaver) were all rewarded for an outstanding 2017.

Cockroft was named Sportswoman of the Year after a season where she took her tally of career world titles to ten with triple gold in London. Voted for by SJA members, she is the first Para athlete ever to win one of the top three SJA Awards.

Hahn, who won double gold at the World Para Athletics Championships in London, picked up the Bill McGowran Trophy for achievement in Para sport. Prescod claimed the Peter Wilson Trophy for international newcomer having made the 100m final on debut at the IAAF World Championships, placing seventh in London.

Less than a week after Stephen Maguire, Blomkvist and Christian Malcolm jointly collected High Performance Coach of the Year at the UK Coaching Awards; the British 4x100m relay team took the Pat Besford Award for outstanding performance of the year.

The quartet of Ujah, Gemili, Talbot and Mitchell-Blake won Britain’s first ever World Championship title in the 4x100m in London, clocking a new British and European record of 37.47 seconds for victory ahead of the USA.

As well as awards for performances on the track this year, athletics legend Brendan Foster received the JL Manning Awards for services off the field of play. Foster retired from the BBC this summer after nearly 40 years of service to athletics as a competitor, broadcaster and founder of the Great North Run.