24th April 2019


  • European champion Zharnel Hughes (GBR) joined by European silver medallist and 9.94 man Reece Prescod (GBR) in men’s 100m field this summer
  • Two of those up against Britain’s finest are Yohan Blake (JAM), the second-quickest man in history over 100m, and 2016 triple Olympic medallist Andre De Grasse (CAN)
  • Tickets available at https://www.theticketfactory.com/british-athletics/online

Four of the world’s very best 100m sprinters have today been confirmed to compete at this July’s Muller Anniversary Games at the London Stadium, including the second quickest man ever and Britain’s two leading lights in the event.

Having established himself as Britain’s number one man at current in the 100m courtesy of a best time of 9.91 seconds last year – the joint-second quickest ever by a Briton – and the European title in the event, Zharnel Hughes (GBR, coach: Glen Mills, club: Shaftesbury Barnet) returns to the London Stadium this summer looking to go one better on his second-place finish at last year’s edition of the event.

Alongside Hughes, fellow Briton Reece Prescod (GBR, Jonas Dodoo, Enfield & Haringey) is quite rightly on the radar of the world following eye-catching performances in both 2017 and 2018 and will relish lining up in his home city this July.

A world championships finalist in 2017 and European silver medallist last year, the 23-year-old Londoner has bold ambitions for 2019, with Linford Christie’s long-standing British record of 9.87 one of the targets in his sights.

Alongside the pair of British stars, two world-class stars with 11 Olympic and world medals between them, Andre De Grasse (CAN) and Yohan Blake (JAM), complete the additions to the field at this stage.

For De Grasse, 2019 will serve as the year in which he looks to return from a spell of hamstring issues and re-assert his authority on the global sprinting stage. A triple Olympic medallist in 2016 with silver in the 200m and bronze medals in the 100m and 4x100m relay, De Grasse’s appearance at this summer’s Muller Anniversary Games marks his first ever race in London and is sure to bring intrigue and excitement from fans.

Last but not least, and a man who is no stranger to the London Stadium having won three Olympic medals at the stadium back in 2012, Jamaican star Yohan Blake joins the aforementioned trio in racing over 100m on Saturday 20 July, day one of the two-day event.

The second fastest man in history over 100m with a time of 9.69 seconds, Blake’s presence in the field completes the additions to the men’s 100m field at current ahead of July’s showpiece event in the capital.

Fresh on the back of multiple Olympic and World medallists being confirmed in the women’s equivalent in Dina Asher-Smith (GBR, coach: John Blackie, club: Blackheath & Bromley), Elaine Thompson (JAM), Dafne Schippers (NED) and Marie-Josee Ta Lou (CIV), the announcement of the quartet comes as the countdown to July’s event continues.

The Müller Anniversary Games has seen history made on numerous occasions in recent years, with some memorable performances from British names such as Sir Mo Farah, Laura Muir and the aforementioned Dina Asher-Smith, while para athletics stars Kare Adenegan and Sophie Hahn both broke world records at the 2018 edition of the event.

Tickets for the Müller Anniversary Games, Müller Grand Prix Birmingham (Sunday 18 August) and Müller British Athletics Championships (Saturday 24 & Sunday 25 August) are available via www.britishathletics.org.uk.