31st December 2021


The New Year Honours List 2022 sees several athletics representatives receive recognition for their service to the sport.

Among those honoured are the British team’s Paralympic gold medallists including Hannah Cockroft, Kadeena Cox and Aled Davies who become OBEs (Officers of the Order of the British Empire).

Cockroft added two further gold medals to her tally to now hold a remarkable seven Paralympic titles from three consecutive Games. The 29-year-old has also set several world records during the 2021 season including a time of 16.39 in the T34 100m final in the Tokyo Olympic Stadium.

Welshman, Davies, won gold at his third consecutive Paralympic Games as he sealed the F63 shot put title in challenging conditions in Japan, taking his overall Games medal tally to four.

Cox, meanwhile, won two gold medals in cycling and placed fourth in the T38 400m at the Games, and receives her OBE for services to Athletics and Cycling.

First time Paralympic champions Jonathan Broom Edwards (T64 High Jump), Owen Miller (T20 1500m), Dan Pembroke (F13 javelin), Andrew Small (T33 100m) and Thomas Young (T38 100m) all become Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBEs) after their outstanding achievements in Tokyo this summer.

Miller, Pembroke and Young all reached the top of the podium at their first Games, while Broom-Edwards and Small, who both won medals at previous Paralympics, earned a place in the sport’s history as they sealed the titles.

Terence ‘Mick’ Bromilow and James McIlroy become Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM).

Bromilow, Chair of Marshall Milton Keynes Athletics club, receives his medal for services to athletics in Buckinghamshire.

Meanwhile, McIlroy, a former British international athlete, is awarded a BEM for services to Athletics in Northern Ireland.

Congratulations to all those who have received honours in this year’s list from all at UK Athletics.