12th July 2019


  • Britain’s former athletics stars to race in a mixed Legends Relay as part of a four-day Festival of Athletics around the Müller Anniversary Games
  • The world’s best athletes will compete at the IAAF Diamond League event in the London Stadium on 20­–21 July
  • Tickets available via https://www.theticketfactory.com/british-athletics/online/

More than 20 of Britain’s biggest athletics stars of the past, are coming out of retirement for one day only, to compete in the new Legends Relay event at the Müller Anniversary Games, in the London Stadium on the weekend of 20–21 July.

The 4x100m Legends Relay will see eight mixed teams of four people, race against each other in a fun event, as part of the pre-show at the IAAF Diamond League meeting on Sunday 21st July.

The line-up will feature medal-winning athletes from four decades, including; 1984 Olympic javelin champion Tessa Sanderson CBE, 1984 Olympic 3,000m silver medallist Wendy Sly, 1984 Olympic sprint relay bronze medallist Simmone Jacobs, 1992 Olympic 4x400m relay bronze medallist Jennifer Stoute, 2004 Olympic sprint relay gold medallist Mark Lewis-Francis, 2004 Athletics Paralympic Danny Crates, 2008 Olympic and former double world 400m champion Christine Ohuruogu, 2008 Olympic javelin bronze medallist Goldie Sayers and 2010 European and Commonwealth 110m hurdles champion Andy Turner.

Among the celebrities competing are former glamour model and running enthusiast Nell McAndrew, broadcaster Charlie Webster, Michael Harvey Jr (otherwise known as MC Harvey from UK garage group So Solid Crew), journalist and TV presenter Martin Lewis OBE, and comedian Kojo Amin.

The Legends Relay is a part a four-day Festival of Athletics at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, which runs from 18–21July.

Christine Ohuruogu said:

“I’m so excited and a little bit nervous at the prospect of coming out of retirement, to race again on my home track in the London Stadium, in the Legends Relay at the Müller Anniversary Games. The line-up of former athletes is amazing and it’s going to be a real celebration of Britain’s athletics history.

“The sprinters, and dare I say younger participants, may think they’ll have an advantage, but I’m sure the competitive spirit that drove all these athletes to national and international medal success, will kick in. It’s going to be an entertaining and unpredictable race, that I’m sure everyone will remember and enjoy.”

Major Events Director for British Athletics, Cherry Alexander OBE said:

“The Legends Relay, at the Müller Anniversary Games, is a chance to revisit Britain’s athletics heritage and celebrate some of the great athletes this country has produced, in a fun and exciting way.

“I’m delighted that so many of our past stars are dusting off their spikes, to take part in our Festival of Athletics and the Müller Anniversary Games. I’m sure there will be a bit of friendly rivalry when the athletes line up on the track in the London Stadium, and it’s going to be an unmissable event with undoubtedly some surprises.”

The full line up of participants at current is:


Jacqui Agyepong – 100m hurdles

Abdul Buhari – Discus

Danny Crates – 800m

Stephanie Douglas – 100m

Julian Golding – 200m

Dalton Grant – High Jump

Wilbert Greaves – 110m hurdles

Simmone Jacobs – 100m

Jo Jennings – High Jump

Mark Lewis-Francis – 100m

Lee McConnell – 400m

Christine Ohuruogu – 400m

Brendan Reilly – High Jump

Tessa Sanderson – Javelin

Goldie Sayers – Javelin

Wendy Sly – 3,000m

Jennifer Stoute – 400m

Kelly Massey – 400m

Joslyn Hoyte-Smith – 200m

Montell Douglas – 100m

Mark Hylton – 400m

Martyn Bernard – High Jump

Andy Turner – 110m hurdles

Conrad Williams – 400m

The Müller Anniversary Games has seen history made on numerous occasions in recent years, with some memorable performances from British names such as Sir Mo Farah, Laura Muir and London sprint star Asher-Smith, while para athletics stars Kare Adenegan and Sophie Hahn both broke world records at the 2018 edition of the event.

Tickets for the Müller Anniversary Games are on sale at www.theticketfactory.com/british-athletics