2nd November 2018


The accolades keep coming for British sprinter Dina Asher-Smith who’s near all-conquering 2018 was recognised once again by being named The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year.

Asher-Smith most notably claimed historic triple gold at the European Championships in Berlin this summer and has seen the awards and nominations pour In ever since.

She won the European titles in the 100m and 200m in world leading times and British records before anchoring the women’s 4x100m team to gold to complete a memorable treble.

The latest form of recognition came at The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year awards as Asher-Smith won the top prize on offer after impressing a stellar judging panel.

Asher-Smith beat double Olympic skeleton champion and recently retired Lizzy Yarnold into second while cyclist Katie Archibald was third after world and Commonwealth titles this year.

Only last week did Asher-Smith become the fourth British athlete to be crowned women’s European Athlete of the Year while she’s also up for the IAAF equivalent.

The Awards recogmise the outstanding contribution to sport made by elite performers, coaches administrators, community volunteers and inspiration women.

The seven-strong panel judges was made up of Christine Ohuruogu, Rebecca Adlington, Chemmy Alcott, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Helen Glover, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson and Gabby Logan.

It is the 13th time athletics has scooped the main prize at the Awards with Asher-Smith joining Ennis-Hill, Ohuruogu, Grey-Thompson, Sally Gunnell, Denise Lewis, Paula Radcliffe and Dame Kelly Holmes as proud winners.

Asher-Smith was in the running for a second prize with the British women’s 4x100m relay team, including Asha Philip, Imani-Lara Lansiquot, Bianca Williams and Daryll Neita, nominated for Team of the Year however that would go to England’s Commonwealth winning netball squad.