9th December 2022


UK Athletics has announced the cohort of athletes on the Olympic and Paralympic Futures Programme for 2022/23, which is supported by Nike.

The Programme is a key step in the pathway to support athlete and coach development with the aim of progressing to become a successful senior athlete, and transition onto the World Class Programme (WCP) in the next cycle. The Pathway also looks to support those who have highlighted the potential to succeed at future Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The Programme works closely with the Home Country Athletics Federations with the focus on supporting aspects of the athletes / coaches Individual Athlete Plan (IAP) and through a series of camps, support staff, and experiences, provide athletes with the opportunities to develop the skills and abilities required for senior international success

The Pathway Programme has seen many successful graduates over the years, most recently including 2022 European 800m champion Keely Hodgkinson and Paralympic T20 1500m gold medallist Owen Miller. Those who have graduated onto the World Class Programme this year include European medallists Charlie Dobson and Ben Pattison.

Olympic Performance Pathway Manager, Dan Wagner said, “The Futures Programme continues to grow year on year, and we were pleased to see a number of athletes graduate this year, as well as see many earn their first Great Britain and Northern Ireland vests.

“We recognise that many athletes and coaches are at different stages of their development within the Programme, so it is fundamental to understand their plan & environment and identify additional areas of support that could add value along that journey.”

Coral Nourrice, the Paralympic Pathway Manager, commented, “We have seen a number of athletes progress from the Paralympic Futures Programme to the World Class Programme in recent years, and it has been encouraging to see athletes and coaches engaging with the support on offer to assist their journey in the sport.

“We look forward to working with the 2022/23 cohort through a series of camps to support their development.”

Olympics Futures Transition

Joe Ferguson (Lewis Samuel, Sheffield & Dearne) [Year 1]

Katie Head (Paul Head, Newham and Essex Beagles) [Year 1]

Thomas Randolph (Craig Winrow, Tamworth) [Year 1]

Elise Thorner (Joe Franklin, Wells City) [Year 1]


Joshua Lay (Graeme Mason, Rugby & Northampton) [Year 2]

Tade Ojora (Joanna Hayes, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow) [Year 2]


Amber Anning (Chris Johnson & Christine Harrison-Bloomfield, Brighton & Hove) [Year 3]


Alastair Chalmers (Matt Elias, Guernsey) [Year 4]

Lucy Hadaway (Matt Barton, City of York) [Year 4]

Amy Hunt (Joe McDonnell, Charnwood) [Year 4]

Divine Oladipo (Ashley Kovacs, Blackheath & Bromley) [Year 4]

Erin Wallace (Trevor Painter, Giffnock North) [Year 4]


Olympic Futures Academy

Abigail Ives (Luke Gunn, Basildon) [Year 1]

Mia McIntosh (Jake Awe, Harrow) [Year 1]

Jeriel Quainoo (Ryan Freckleton, Blackheath and Bromley) [Year 1]

Samuel Reardon (Nigel Stickings, Blackheath and Bromley) [Year 1]

Ella Rush (David Feeney, Amber Valley & Erewash) [Year 1]

Sophie Walton (Trevor Williams, Horwich) [Year 1]

Nia Wedderburn-Goodison (Andre Williams, Harrow) [Year 1]


Sophie Ashurst (Andy Ashurst, Sale Harriers Manchester) [Year 2]

Sam Brereton (Robbie Grabarz, Birchfield) [Year 2]

Charlie Carvell (Stewart Marshall, Telford) [Year 2]

Kane Elliott (William Sharp, Falkirk) [Year 2]

Joy Eze (Michael Donnelly, Gateshead) [Year 2]

Ed Faulds (James Wright, Rugby & Northampton) [Year 2]

Ethan Hussey (Andrew Henderson, Leeds) [Year 2]

Yemi Mary John (Alan James, Woodford Green Essex Ladies) [Year 2]

Derek Kinlock (Nat Senior, Croydon) [Year 2]

Toby Makoyawo (Peter Griffiths, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) [Year 2]

Henry McLuckie (Geoff Watkin, Shaftesbury Barnet) [Year 2]

Abigail Pawlett (Ashley Bryant, Trafford) [Year 2]

Anna Purchase (Mohamad Saatara, Notts) [Year 2]

Tara Simpson-Sullivan (Wigan & District) [Year 2]


Kelechi Aguocha (Robbie Grabarz, Blackheath and Bromley) [Year 3]

Daniel Falode (Guy Spencer, Cambridge Harriers) [Year 3]

Thomas Keen (Mark Vile, Cambridge & Coleridge) [Year 3]

Charlotte Payne (Paul Dickenson, Reading) [Year 3]

Jodie Smith (Ashley Bryant, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow) [Year 3]

Joshua Zeller (Adrian Brown, Bracknell AC) [Year 3]


Paralympic Futures Academy

Ben Sandilands (Steve Doig, Fife) [Year 1]

Madeline Down (Dominic McNellis, Halesowen) [Year 1]

James Ledger (Matt Elias, DSW Para Academy) [Year 1] / Makoye Kampengele (Joe McDonnell, Cardiff) [Guide to James Ledger] [Year 1]

Victoria Levitt (Stephen Sumner, Hyndburn) [Year 1]

Kyle Keyworth (Kes Salmon, Manchester Harriers) [Year 1]

Oluwafunmilola Oduwaiye (Anthony Hughes, Cardiff & The Vale Schs) [Year 1]

Kieran O’Hara (Patrick Gahagan, Havering) [Year 1]

Daniel Wolff (Andy Vaughan, Epsom & Ewell) [Year 1]

Sean Frame (Joyce Rammell, Red Star) [Year 1]


Steven Bryce (Allan Bryce/Steve Doig, Victoria Park City of Glasgow) [Year 2]

Barney Corrall (Aston Moore, Charnwood) [Year 2]

Prince Reid (Roy Dickens, Blackheath & Bromley) [Year 2]

Segun Samuel (Jeffrey Lawal-Balogun, South London) [Year 2]

Jade Smith (MadRunners) [Year 2]

Emily Stewart (Richard Kaufman, Gateshead) [Year 2]

Zachary Tandy (Nathan Stephens, DSW Para Academy) [Year 2]