9th January 2018


Commonwealth and European youth long jump champion Holly Mills (coach: James Coney) is among the 14 multi-eventers selected for the Indoor Combined Events International which takes place in Madrid on the 27 and 28 January 2018.

Full teams have been selected for the senior and junior categories at the competition which pits the British Athletics squad against Czech Republic, France, Poland and Spain.

Mills competed in her first ever U20 indoor pentathlon last weekend, setting an impressive total of 4049 points to take the victory. The Andover athlete secured personal bests in the 800m, high jump and shot put in her first pentathlon since she was an U15 athlete.

She will be joined by Holly McArthur (Iain McEwan), who like her namesake, is also supported by the British Athletics Futures Academy Programme in 2018. The Edinburgh athlete set the Scottish U20 heptathlon record last summer – 5687 points – and will compete in her first Commonwealth Games for Scotland in April. They will be joined by Jade O’Dowda who completes the trio.

The winners of the senior trials event, James Finney (Sam Stanislaus) and Marilyn Nwawulor (Lloyd Cowan), lead the respective men’s and women’s quartets.

Finney added 122 points to his personal best as he lifted the English heptathlon title with a points tally of 5514 on Sunday. Elsewhere, Marilyn Nwawulor (Lloyd Cowan) went one better than her 2016 silver medal as she won the women’s pentathlon, and it was double delight as she also set a personal best of 4093 points.

Caius Joseph (Rafer Joseph) – whose parents Rafer and Tracey both competed for a British team in the past – lifted the junior men’s heptathlon title with a personal best score of 5275 and will lead the trio in a few weeks’ time.


The British Athletics team for the Indoor Combined Events International on 28 / 29 January 2018:

Senior Women:

Marilyn Nwawulor (Lloyd Cowan)

Emma Nwofor (Linford Christie)

Jo Rowland (Toni Minichiello)

Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton)

Senior Men:

Lewis Church (David Hull)

James Finney (Sam Stanislaus)

Curtis Mathews (Lawrence Moore)

Andrew Murphy (Colin Sinclair)

Junior Women:

Holly McArthur (Iain McEwan)

Holly Mills (James Coney)

Jade O’Dowda (Marcia Marriott)

Junior Men:

Nicolas Gerome (Cyrille le Nader)

Caius Joseph (Rafer Joseph)

Joel McFarlane (Ian McFarlane)